ETH Zurich Web Archive

The ETH Zurich University Archives periodically collects ETH Zurich's most important websites (main site, portals for ETH members and students, special interest websites).

Which websites are archived?

The ETH Zurich Web Archive (external link) permanently stores selected parts of ETH Zurich's web presence and makes these websites available to the public. Every webpage belonging to a specific website is captured in a snapshot. These snapshots reflect the condition of the website at the date of archiving.

The Web Archive currently contains several collections of websites.

  • Snapshots showing the state of the most important ETH websites of institutes, chairs and departments prior to ETH Zurich's web relaunch in 2016.
  • Snapshots of several older ETH websites.
  • Snapshots of virtual exhibitions of ETH Library since 1998.

The Web Archive offers a well-considered selection of websites that illustrate the development of ETH Zurich's web presence. To ensure the completeness of a website, all its webpages are archived at the same time. Technical and visual quality control ensures the high quality of the snapshots. The Web Archive guarantees the stability of references and quotations so that users can cite the archived websites as scientific sources.

The historic websites are retrievable in various portals, such as Hochschularchiv Online (Archival Information System of the ETH Zurich University Archives), the Knowledge Portal of the ETH Library and Archives Portal Europe (external link). The search index consists of the title of a website, the date of archiving and other metadata, but not of the websites' textual content.

Open the start page of the Hochschularchiv Online (external link) database. Enter a keyword in the search field.

It is best to combine your query with the word "website". A list of all archived websites is also available (external link).

In the hit list, click on the entry you are interested in.

Click on "Link auf digitales Original" to access the ETH Data Archive.

If you agree with the copyright notice, click on "I accept the terms".

You see an overview of the snapshots archived over the last couple of years. Click on the date you are interested in.

The snapshot is displayed in the Open Wayback Machine.

The banner at the top of the page serves to avoid confusion with the current ETH Zurich website.

For the web archiving process, the ETH Zurich Web Archive uses the remote harvesting method. We use Heritrix as web crawler. The crawler collects all content linked to a start URL. This web archiving method creates snapshots of all webpages in a website. The crawler generates files in WARC format and log files documenting the crawler's settings.

A prerequisite for archiving in the Web Archive is that a website’s owner is part of ETH Zurich. Only publicly accessible websites, for which no login is required, are archived. Content published on a website, such as PDFs or presentation slides, is stored in the WARC files. Embedded content from external services (e.g. YouTube videos or Google Maps) is not archived. Instead, a placeholder "Resource not in archive" is displayed. 

The websites are displayed in the viewer Open Wayback Machine. The display of the archived version can differ slightly from the original version. Web archiving is particularly difficult for dynamic content. The quality control process ensures that the central contents of a website are archived.

How to cite websites

Every snapshot, i.e. the versions of a website archived at different times, is assigned a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). Thus, users can cite these snapshots as sources in their scientific publications.

Please quote as follows:

ETH Zurich University Archives, [call number], [website title], [date of archiving], [DOI]

Example:

ETH Zurich University Archives, EZ-INF1.1/7, Website of: Aquatic Ecology, original URL http://www.ae.ethz.ch, 01/10/2017, DOI: 10.7893/ethz-hsa-web-7

How can I register an ETH Zurich website for archiving?

Would you like to save your ETH website in the ETH Zurich Web Archive? To register, please email archiv@library.ethz.ch

Digital preservation

The WARC files and selected log files of each crawl are stored and managed in the ETH Data Archive. The ETH Data Archive adheres to the OAIS model (Open Archival Information System) and uses the internationally accepted standards METS and PREMIS.

ETH Zurich departments involved in web archiving

The ETH Zurich Web Archive is made possible thanks to the cooperation of various ETH departments. The ETH University Archives cooperates closely with Corporate Communications (external link) and decides which websites are archived. IT Services (external link) configures the crawler, harvests the websites and provides infrastructure for temporary storage. The University Archives performs quality control checks, re-crawls websites if necessary and catalogues all archived websites. The snapshots and metadata are archived in the ETH Data Archive.

Other web archives of ETH Zurich websites

The websites http://www.archiv.ethz.ch/ (external link) and http://www.webarchiv.ethz.ch/ (external link) offer access to more than 200 older ETH Zurich websites, which are carefully maintained.

The Internet Archive (external link) contains crawls from various ETH websites since 1997, but ETH Zurich has no control over when, how often and which parts of its web presence are archived in the Internet Archive. Frequently, webpages belonging to a specific website are archived at widely differing dates.

Webarchiv der ETH Zürich

Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich archiviert in regelmässigen Abständen die wichtigsten Websites der ETH Zürich (Hauptseite, Portale für ETH-Angehörige und Studierende, Fachsites).

Welche Websites werden archiviert?

Im Webarchiv (Link verlässt diese Seite) werden ausgewählte Teile des Webauftrittes der ETH Zürich dauerhaft gesichert und langfristig der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Von allen Unterseiten, die zu einer bestimmten Website gehören, werden digitale Momentaufnahmen erzeugt. Diese Snapshots zeigen den Zustand einer Website zum Archivierungszeitpunkt.

Das Webarchiv enthält derzeit verschiedene Sammlungen von ETH-Websites.

  • Snapshots aus dem Jahr 2016. Sie zeigen den Zustand der wichtigsten ETH-Websites von Professuren, Instituten, Departementen und Abteilungen vor dem Relaunch des ETH-Webauftritts.
  • Snapshots von einzelnen älteren ETH-Websites
  • Snapshots von virtuellen Ausstellungen der ETH-Bibliothek seit 1998

Das Webarchiv des Hochschularchivs bietet den Nutzerinnen und Nutzer eine bewusste Auswahl von Websites, die die Entwicklung des Webauftrittes der ETH Zürich dokumentiert. Um die Vollständigkeit einer Website zu gewährleisten, werden alle Webpages einer Website zum selben Zeitpunkt archiviert. Die technische und visuelle Qualitätskontrolle sorgt für die hohe Qualität der Snapshots. Das Webarchiv garantiert die Stabilität von Verweisen und Zitaten, so dass die archivierten Websites als wissenschaftliche Quellen genutzt werden können.

Der Titel einer Website, das Datum der Archivierung sowie weitere Metadaten können in verschiedenen Portalen durchsucht werden, so in der Archivdatenbank Hochschularchiv online, im Wissensportal der ETH-Bibliothek und in Archives Portal Europe (Link verlässt diese Seite).

Öffnen Sie die Einstiegsseite des Hochschularchivs online (Link verlässt diese Seite) und geben Sie im Suchfeld einen Suchbegriff ein.

Am besten kombinieren Sie Ihre Abfrage mit dem Wort "Website". Hier finden Sie eine Liste aller archivierten Websites (Link verlässt diese Seite). Eine Volltextsuche ist zurzeit nicht möglich.

Klicken Sie in der Trefferliste auf den Eintrag, der Sie interessiert.

Mit einem Klick auf "Link zum digitalen Original" öffnet sich die Einstiegsseite des ETH Data Archive.

Wenn Sie mit den Copyrights Information einverstanden sind, klicken Sie auf "I accept the terms".

Sie sehen eine Übersicht der archivierten Snapshots der gesuchten Website über die letzten Jahre. Klicken Sie nun auf das gewünschte Datum eines Snapshots.

Der Snapshot wird in der Open Wayback Machine angezeigt.

Das Banner ganz oben auf der Seite dient dazu, eine Verwechslung mit dem aktuellen Webauftritt der ETH Zürich zu vermeiden.

Das Webarchiv des Hochschularchivs setzt für die digitale Archivierung die Methode des Remote Harvestings ein. Als Web-Crawler ist Heritrix im Einsatz. Der Crawler sammelt ausgehend von einer Start-URL alle Inhalte ein, die verlinkt sind. Der Crawler erzeugt Dateien im WARC-Format sowie Log-Dateien, die dokumentieren, mit welchen Einstellungen der Crawler gearbeitet hat.

Voraussetzung für die Archivierung im Webarchiv ist die Zugehörigkeit einer Website zur ETH Zürich. Es werden ausschliesslich öffentlich zugängliche Websites archiviert, für deren Zugang kein Login notwendig ist. Auf einer Webpage veröffentlichte Inhalte wie PDFs oder Präsentationsfolien werden in den WARC-Dateien gespeichert. Eingebettete Inhalte aus externen Diensten (z.B. YouTube-Videos oder Google-Karten) werden nicht archiviert. Stattdessen wird ein Platzhalter "Resource not in archive" angezeigt.

Die Anzeige der Websites für Nutzer des Webarchivs erfolgt im Viewer Open Wayback Machine. Dabei kann die Darstellung der archivierten Version leicht von der Originalversion abweichen. Insbesondere bei dynamisch erzeugten Inhalten ist die Archivierung schwierig. Bei der Qualitätskontrolle der archivierten Websites wird primär darauf geachtet, dass die zentralen Inhalte einer Website archiviert werden.

Zitieren von Websites

Jeder Snapshot einer Website zu einem bestimmten Datum besitzt einen Digital Object Identifier (DOI) als persistenten Identifikator.

Bitte zitieren Sie folgendermassen:
Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, [Signatur], [Titel der Website], [Datum der Archivierung], [DOI]

Zum Beispiel:
Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, EZ-INF1.1/213, Website von: Institut für Bewegungswissenschaften und Sport mit der Original-URL http://www.ibws.ethz.ch, 14.07.2017, DOI: 10.7893/ethz-hsa-web-223

Wie kann ich eine Website der ETH Zürich zur Archivierung vorschlagen?

Wenn Sie eine ETH-Website zur Archivierung vorschlagen möchten, schreiben Sie eine E-Mail an: archiv@library.ethz.ch

Digitale Langzeitarchivierung

Die WARC-Dateien werden gemeinsam mit ausgewählten Log-Dateien jedes Crawls im ETH Data Archive gespeichert und verwaltet. Das ETH Data Archive orientiert sich am OAIS-Modell (Open Archival Information System) und verwendet die international verbreiteten Standards METS und PREMIS.

Am Webarchiv beteiligte Abteilungen der ETH Zürich

Das Webarchiv ist nur möglich dank der Zusammenarbeit verschiedener ETH-Abteilungen. Das Hochschularchiv arbeitet mit der Hochschulkommunikation (Link verlässt diese Seite) zusammen und entscheidet darüber, welche Websites archiviert werden. Die Informatikdienste (Link verlässt diese Seite) konfigurieren den Crawler, führen das Harvesting durch und stellen die Infrastruktur für die Zwischenspeicherung bereit. Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich führt die Qualitätskontrolle durch, crawlt einzelne Websites nochmals und metadatiert alle archivierten Websites. Die Snapshots und Metadaten werden im ETH Data Archive archiviert.

Andere Webarchive von Websites der ETH Zürich

Unter den beiden URLs http://www.archiv.ethz.ch/ (Link verlässt diese Seite) und http://www.webarchiv.ethz.ch/ (Link verlässt diese Seite) werden mehr als 200 ältere ETH-Websites angeboten, die aufmerksam gepflegt werden.

Im Internet Archive (Link verlässt diese Seite) finden sich Crawls verschiedenster ETH-Websites seit 1997. Die ETH Zürich hat jedoch beim Internet Archive keine Kontrolle darüber, wann, wie häufig und welche Teile des ETH-Webauftritts archiviert werden. Oftmals liegen die Snapshots der Unterseiten einer Website zeitlich weit auseinander.

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen Webarchiv der ETH Zürich

Kontakt

Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich
+41 44 632 07 04
archiv@library.ethz.ch

Leitung
Christian J. Huber

Christian Huber