Google Scholar

Google Scholar (external link) is a freely accessible web search engine for academic documents. Google Scholar indexes full texts and metadata of academic articles, patents and books from all disciplines. To this end, Google Scholar uses web documents in PDF or HTML format that are classified as “academic” based on their structure and URL (see Google Scholar inclusion guidelines (external link)). 

Access

Google Scholar is freely accessible.

Access to full texts is licence-dependent. If full texts of publications are licensed by ETH Library, students and other members of ETH Zurich can access them only if they are logged onto ETH Library’s network. If they are outside the ETH Zurich network, they need to have configured VPN (external link).

To display ETH Library full texts in Google Scholar,

  1. click on the link https://scholar.google.com/scholar_setprefs?instq=ETH-Bibliothek (external link) then
  2. confirm by clicking on “Save”.

 
Links to online holdings are then displayed in the search hits as ETH-Bibliothek-SFX. Links to print holdings are displayed with Find in NEBIS after clicking on the symbol >> (see image below).

Figure

Google Scholar results with settings for members of ETH Zurich. The link “ETH-Bibliothek-SFX” leads to the online version of the documents (circled in red). The link “Find in NEBIS” leads to the order of the print edition (circled in red).

Google Scholar versus Scopus or Web of Science

With Google Scholar, the search hits are determined by sophisticated algorithms, which are not published, however. Unfortunately, the sequence of the search hits displayed by Google Scholar, and the number of citations, are particularly easy to manipulate (see Wikipedia (external link)). By contrast, the methods deployed by the databases Web of Science and Scopus (external link) are transparent. As the latter use strict quality criteria, they index fewer documents than Google Scholar. Furthermore, Web of Science and Scopus offer advanced search and filter options, which are lacking in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar is, therefore, less transparent than traditional library databases but offers high-quality full-text searches across a particularly large number of documents.

Courses and tutorials

Is Google enough? – finding scientific information

Efficient search – Web of Science and Scopus

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (Link verlässt diese Seite) ist eine frei zugängliche Web Suchmaschine für akademische Dokumente. Google Scholar indiziert Volltexte und Metadaten von wissenschaftlichen Artikeln, Patenten und Büchern aus allen Disziplinen. Google Scholar benutzt dazu Webdokumente in PDF oder HTML Format, welche anhand von Aufbau und URL als «wissenschaftlich» klassifiziert werden (siehe inclusion guidelines von Google Scholar (Link verlässt diese Seite)). 

Zugriff

Google Scholar ist frei zugänglich.

Der Zugriff auf Volltexte ist Lizenz-abhängig. Falls Volltexte von Publikationen durch die ETH-Bibliothek lizenziert sind, können Studierende und andere Angehörige der ETH Zürich nur dann darauf zugreifen, wenn sie im Netzwerk der ETH-Bibliothek angemeldet sind. Wenn sie sich ausserhalb des ETH-Netzwerkes befinden, müssen sie VPN (Link verlässt diese Seite) konfiguriert haben. 

Um sich die Volltexte der ETH-Bibliothek in Google Scholar anzeigen zu lassen,

  1. klicken sie auf den Link https://scholar.google.com/scholar_setprefs?instq=ETH-Bibliothek (Link verlässt diese Seite) und
  2. quittieren sie anschliessend mit «Save».

 
In den Suchresultaten werden dann Links auf Online-Bestände als ETH-Bibliothek-SFX angezeigt. Links auf Printbestände werden nach Anklicken des Symbols  >>  mit Find in NEBIS angezeigt (siehe Bild unten).

Bild

Google Scholar Resultate mit Settings für ETH-Angehörige. Der Link «ETH-Bibliothek-SFX» führt auf die online Version des Dokuments (rot umkreist). Der Link «Find in NEBIS» führt auf die Bestellung der Printausgabe (rot umkreist).

Google Scholar versus Scopus oder Web of Science

Die Suchresultate werden bei Google Scholar durch ausgefeilte Algorithmen bestimmt, die jedoch nicht publiziert werden. Die Reihenfolge der durch Google Scholar angezeigten Suchresultate, sowie die Anzahl Zitate, sind leider besonders leicht manipulierbar (siehe Wikipedia (Link verlässt diese Seite)). Im Gegensatz dazu sind die Methoden der Datenbanken Web of Science und Scopus (Link verlässt diese Seite) transparent. Weil letztere zudem strikte Qualitätskriterien anwenden, indizieren sie weniger Dokumente als Google Scholar. Zudem bieten Web of Science und Scopus erweiterte Such- und Filtermöglichkeiten, die in Google Scholar fehlen. 

Google Scholar ist also weniger transparent als traditionelle bibliothekarische Datenbanken, bietet jedoch eine hochwertige Volltext Suche über besonders viele Dokumente.

Kurse und Tutorials

Ist Google genug? – wissenschaftliche Informationssuche

Effektiv recherchieren – Web of Science und Scopus