Arnold Heim (1882–1965)

Geologist

Arnold Heim (born on 20 March 1882), the son of the first Swiss female physician Marie Heim-Vögtlin and the geologist Albert Heim, studied geology in Zurich. From 1908 to 1911 and from 1924 to 1928, he was a private lecturer at the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich before working as a professor at Sun Yat-sen University in Canton in China from 1929 to 1931.

Findings on sedimentation and tectonics

Heim conducted key studies in the Säntis and Churfirsten region, and his findings on links between sedimentation and tectonics were ground-breaking.   

His research on oil deposits on behalf of industry and various governments catapulted him to worldwide fame.

Travel and search for petroleum

Numerous extended trips to the four corners of the earth were not solely devoted to geology, however, but also observing nature and studying foreign peoples and cultures. In the process, Heim became a fierce critic of the western lifestyle and a pioneer of decolonisation and nature conservation.

Switzerland's precarious supply of raw materials during the First World War prompted the machine industry to commission Heim to research lucrative oil deposits in the country. After some initial promise, the project was abandoned on financial grounds. Throughout his lifetime, however, Heim was convinced of the prospect of striking oil in Switzerland. On 3 October 1957, he gave a lecture in front of the Freisinnige Partei in Zurich, in which he immediately began criticizing Switzerland’s deficit in petrol geology and attributed it to the short-sightedness of state and financial institutions.    

Arnold Heim died in Zurich on 27 May 1965.

Manuscript

Heims Notiz

Lecture notes "Is There Any Crude Oil in Switzerland"

Holdings

The ETH Zurich University Archives curate Heim's substantial personal papers:

  • Arnold Heim. Manuscripts, photographs, slides, separata collection from his personal papers. Manuscripts and autographs from ETH-Bibliothek 155. Zurich 1955. ETH E-Collection (external link)
  • Arnold Heim. Correspondence from his personal papers. Manuscripts and autographs from ETH-Bibliothek 156. Zurich 1992. ETH E-Collection (external link)

His personal papers also contain extensive series of large-scale glass slides from his research expeditions. These photographs can be viewed on E-Pics Image Archive Online (external link). The Image Archive also contains film and audio documents on Arnold Heim.

Arnold Heim (1882–1965)

Geologe

Arnold Heim (geboren am 20. März 1882), Sohn der ersten Schweizer Aerztin Marie Heim-Vögtlin und des Geologen Albert Heim, studierte Geologie in Zürich. In den Jahren 1908 bis 1911 und 1924 bis 28 war er Privatdozent an der Universität und ETH Zürich. Von 1929 bis 1931 wirkte er in China als Professor an der Universität Kanton.

Erkenntnisse über Sedimentation und Tektonik

Heim gelangen bedeutende Untersuchungen im Säntis- und Churfirstengebiet. Bahnbrechend waren seine Erkenntnisse über Zusammenhänge zwischen Sedimentation und Tektonik.

Mit seinen Forschungen zu Erdölvorkommen im Auftrag von Industrie und verschiedenen Regierungen erlangte er Weltruf.

Reisen und Suche nach Erdöl

Zahlreiche, ausgedehnte Reisen in allen Erdtteilen waren nicht allein der Geologie gewidmet, sondern auch der Naturbeobachtung und dem Studium fremder Völker und Kulturen.

Heim entwickelte sich dabei zum scharfen Kritiker westlichen Lebensstils, Pionier der Entkolonialisierung und des Naturschutzes.

Die prekäre Versorgungslage der Schweiz mit Rohstoffen im ersten Weltkrieg veranlasste die Maschinenindustrie, Arnold Heim mit der Forschung nach rentablen Erdölvorkommen im Lande zu betrauen. Nach vielversprechenden Anfängen wurden weitere Abklärungen aus finanziellen Gründen eingestellt. Heim hingegen war Zeit seines Lebens von den Chancen der Erdölgewinnung in der Schweiz überzeugt. Am 3. Oktober 1957 hielt er vor der Freisinnigen Partei Zürich einen Vortrag, in dem er gleich eingangs den Rückstand der Schweiz in der Petrolgeologie kritisierte und auf die Kurzsichtigkeit staatlicher und finanzieller Institutionen zurückführte.

Arnold Heim starb am 27. Mai 1965 in Zürich.

Handschrift

Heims Notiz

Vortragsnotizen "Gibt es Erdöl in der Schweiz"

Bestand

Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich betreut den inhaltsreichen Nachlass von Arnold Heim:

Der Nachlass umfasst Korrespondenz mit zahlreichen Briefpartrnern und Briefpartnerinnen, Vortragsmanuskripte, geologische Berichte, geologische Feldbücher, parallel dazu geführte Reisetagebücher, Fotoalben, biographische Unterlagen und vieles mehr. Das Material ist eine Fundgrube zur Erforschung von Themen aus Geologie, Geographie, Ethnologie, Soziologie, Geschichte, Reise- und Verkehrstechnik usw.

Aus dem Nachlass stammen ebenfalls umfangreiche Serien grossformatiger Glasdias von den Forschungsexpeditionen. Diese können direkt im E-Pics Bildarchiv Online (Link verlässt diese Seite) eingesehen werden. Das Bildarchiv bewahrt auch Film- und Tondokumente von Arnold Heim.