Gesturespace@ETH-Bibliothek

Completed project

Aim of the project

The virtual exhibits of the ETH library are to be given a spatial presence through interactive projection, so that they can be experienced in a physical way. The installation is intended to be freely accessible on a general basis.

Description of the project

Gesturespace is an interactive, dynamic projection of digitised historic resources held at the ETH-Bibliothek. Using contactless gestures, it is possible to rummage through picture collections and leaf through valuable books. The project combines the latest technology in order to process interaction with traditional library stocks in a heuristic form.

Using intuitive hand gestures as well as through the position of the body in the room, the viewer can control the content of the projection. By means of simple gestures, the viewer can navigate through digitised documents (photos, old prints), and zoom into individual pictures.

The conceptual and technical basis was developed in the Gesturespace project (Bachelor degree work by Kai Jauslin at ZHdK). Gesturespace uses a 3D infra-red camera from the company Mesa Imaging of Zurich. With this high-precision technology, it is possible to control the interaction between body and system much more finely than has been possible with the means available up to now.

The graphical interface and plane of interaction has been implemented with the 3D game engine Unity3D. The pictures are projected by means of a wide-angle projector onto the wall next to the entrance of the InfoCenter.

More information: Gesturespace 2 @ ETH-Bibliothek Zurich (external link)

Timeframe, sequence

DurationJanuary to April 2010
14 April 2010 Start, to coincide with the beginning of the Inetbib conference at ETH Zurich.
The installation is then to be in operation for 3 months.

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations Gesturespace@ETH-Bibliothek

Contact

Kai Jauslin
Integration and Development
+41 44 632 49 72
kai.jauslin@library.ethz.ch

Gesturespace@ETH-Bibliothek

Abgeschlossenes Projekt

Ziel des Projektes

Den virtuellen Exponaten der ETH-Bibliothek soll über eine interaktive Projektion eine räumliche Präsenz verschafft werden und sie physisch erfahrbar machen. Die Installation soll allgemein und frei zugänglich sein.

Beschreibung des Projektes

Gesturespace ist eine interaktive, dynamische Projektion von digitalisierten historischen Ressourcen der ETH-Bibliothek. Mittels berührungslosen Gesten kann in Bildsammlungen gestöbert und in wertvollen Büchern geblättert werden. Das Projekt verbindet modernste Technologie in der Verarbeitung von Interaktionen mit traditionellen Bibliotheksbeständen in spielerischer Form.

Durch die Anwendung von intuitiven Handgesten sowie durch die Position des Körpers im Raum kann der Betrachter die Inhalte der Projektion steuern. Mittels einfachen Gesten kann der Betrachter durch digitalisierte Dokumente (Fotos, alte Drucke) navigieren und in einzelne Bilder hineinzoomen.

Die konzeptuellen und technischen Grundlagen wurden im Projekt des Gesturespace (Bachelor Abschlussarbeit Kai Jauslin an der ZHdK) erarbeitet. Der Gesturespace verwendet eine 3D-Infrarot-Kamera der Firma Mesa Imaging, Zürich. Mit dieser hochpräzisen Technologie ist es möglich, die Interaktion zwischen Körper und System wesentlich feiner zu steuern, als dies mit bisherigen Mitteln möglich ist.

Die grafische Schnittstelle und Interaktionsebene wurde mit der 3D-Game-Engine Unity3D umgesetzt. Die Bilder werden über einen Weitwinkel-Beamer an die Wand neben dem Eingang zum InfoCenter projiziert.

Weitere Informationen: Gesturespace 2 @ ETH-Bibliothek Zurich (Link verlässt diese Seite)

Zeitrahmen, Ablauf

LaufzeitJanuar bis April 2010
14. April 2010 Start: zu Beginn der Inetbib-Tagung an der ETH-Zürich.
Die Installation bleibt anschliessend 3 Monate in Betrieb.

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen Gesturespace@ETH-Bibliothek

Kontakt

Kai Jauslin
Integration und Entwicklung
+41 44 632 49 72
kai.jauslin@library.ethz.ch