KG_online

Completed project

Aim of the project

The project KG_online is primarily geared towards making a new inventory of the five existing cultural asset catalogues with the associated activities (inspection, formal and content-related recording, repackaging, reassessment, photographic documentation) and the development of a new database.

Description of the project

With the Sternwarte Collection, paintings and sculptures in and on buildings, busts and other works of art, ETH Zurich possesses various cultural assets of regional and national importance. ETH Zurich’s Executive Board of conferred the responsibility for the protection of cultural property upon ETH-Bibliothek and the Head of Collections and Archives respectively.  

The some 800 current cultural artefacts are recorded in an older online inventory. This database is to be transferred to a modern database application and ETH-Bibliothek’s system landscape and all the objects are to be re-photographed.

The descriptive metadata is also to be updated and adapted to the latest international requirements. Moreover, the cultural assets will be identified on site, repackaged and re-stored. If need be, individual cultural assets will be reassessed.

Synergies and context

The KG_online project is part of the Impulse Programme 2013/2014 of ETH Zurich’s Executive Board.

Timeframe, sequence

Januar 2016end of project

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations KG_online

Contact

Nicole Graf

Nicole Graf
Head Image Archive
+41 44 632 80 81
nicole.graf@library.ethz.ch

KG_online

Abgeschlossenes Projekt

Ziel des Projektes

Das Projekt KG_online hat primär die Neuinventarisierung der fünf bestehenden Kulturgüter-Kataloge mit den damit verbundenen Aufgaben (Sichtung, formale und inhaltliche Erfassung, Umverpackung, Umlagerung, Neubewertung, fotografische Dokumentation) und das Aufsetzen einer neuen Datenbank zum Ziel.

Beschreibung des Projektes

Die ETH Zürich besitzt mit der Sammlung Sternwarte, Gemälden und Skulpturen in und an Gebäuden, Büsten und weiteren Kunstwerken unterschiedliche Kulturgüter von regionaler und nationaler Bedeutung. Die Aufgabe des Kulturgüterschutzes hat die Schulleitung der ETH Zürich der ETH-Bibliothek bzw. der Bereichsleitung Sammlungen und Archive übertragen.

Die aktuell rund 800 Kulturgüter sind in einem älteren Online-Inventar verzeichnet. Zum einen soll diese Datenbank in eine moderne Datenbank-Applikation und in die Systemlandschaft der ETH-Bibliothek überführt werden. Zum anderen werden sämtliche Objekte neu fotografiert.

Die beschreibenden Metadaten werden zudem aktualisiert und den neuesten internationalen Anforderungen angepasst. Die Kulturgüter werden vor Ort identifiziert, umverpackt und neu gelagert. Falls notwendig werden einzelne Kulturgüter neu bewertet.

Synergien und Kontext

Das Projekt KG_online ist Teil des Impulsprogramms 2013/2014 der Schulleitung der ETH Zürich.

Zeitrahmen, Ablauf

Januar 2016Projektende