TMA_online

Completed project

Aim of the project

  • Improve access to the holdings in the Thomas Mann Archive (external link) (TMA)  through up-to-date indexing that is also accessible online
  • Conservation and protection of the original holdings through an integral digitization of the holdings

Description of the project

The Thomas Mann Archive offers key source material for research purposes. It provides access to Mann's diaries, numerous manuscripts of his works, extensive correspondence and a broad newspaper documentation.  The TMA_online project involves indexing all archive and documentation holdings in accordance with the modern archiving standard. The index information (external link) is gradually being made accessible online.

In order to conserve and protect the originals  the entire holdings are being digitized in the library's own DigiCenter. Although legal barriers stand in the way of publishing the digital copies, they are accessible in-house in the archive’s reading room.

Synergies and context

The TMA_online project is part of the ETH Zurich Executive Board's 2013/2014 Impulse Programme. The extended timeframe of the project will end in the middle of March 2015.Synergies in archive information systems and indexing develop from the exchange with ETH Zurich's University Archives and the Max Frisch Archive.    

Timeframe, sequence

TimeframeSequence
March 2015:Webclient (external link) initiated with index information
June 2015:end of project

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations TMA_online

Contact

Michael Gasser
Head Archives
+41 44 632 21 82
michael.gasser@library.ethz.ch

Michael Gasser

TMA_online

Abgeschlossenes Projekt

Ziel des Projektes

  • Verbesserung des Zugangs zu den Beständen des Thomas-Mann-Archivs (Link verlässt diese Seite) (TMA) mittels zeitgemässer Erschliessung, die auch online zugänglich ist
  • Schonung und Sicherung der Originalbestände durch integrale Bestandesdigitalisierung

Beschreibung des Projektes

Das Thomas-Mann-Archiv stellt der Forschung wichtiges Quellenmaterial zur Verfügung: Es bietet Zugang zu Manns Tagebüchern, zahlreichen Manuskripten seiner Werke, umfangreicher Korrespondenz und breit gefasster Zeitungsdokumentation. Im Rahmen des Projekts TMA_online werden sämtliche Archiv- und Dokumentationsbestände nach modernem archivischen Standard erschlossen. Schrittweise werden die Verzeichnungsinformationen (Link verlässt diese Seite) frei online zugänglich gemacht.

Für die Schonung und Sicherung der Originale wird der Gesamtbestand im bibliothekseigenen DigiCenter digitalisiert. Rechtliche Schranken stehen der Online-Publikation der Digitalisate entgegen. Sie werden aber vor Ort im Lesesaal des Archivs zugänglich sein.

Synergien und Kontext

Das Projekt TMA_online ist Teil des Impulsprogramms 2013/2014 der Schulleitung der ETH Zürich. Die verlängerte Laufzeit des Projekts endet Mitte 2015. Synergien in den Bereichen Archivinformationssystem und Erschliessung ergeben sich aus dem Austausch mit dem Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich und dem Max Frisch-Archiv (Link verlässt diese Seite).

Zeitrahmen, Ablauf

ZeitrahmenAblauf
März 2015:Aufschaltung Webclient (Link verlässt diese Seite) mit Verzeichnungsinformationen
Juni 2015:Projektende

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen TMA_online

Kontakt

Michael Gasser
Leitung Archive
+41 44 632 21 82
michael.gasser@library.ethz.ch

Michael Gasser

Weiterführende Links