2011: International Year of Chemistry

Hermann Staudinger

Professor Hermann Staudinger (1881 to 1965) conducting an experiment, circa 1916 (Portr_13425)

 
The ETH-Bibliothek possesses both printed and electronic documents on the subject of chemistry as well as extensive holdings on the history of chemistry at ETH Zurich. These are available to the general public and in some cases can be accessed directly online.

To celebrate the International Year of Chemistry 2011, the ETH-Bibliothek has produced an overview of its holdings and resources on this subject:

History of Chemistry at ETH Zurich

The former Department IV, which provided a very broad technical education, developed into the clearly differentiated Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences D-CHAB. This process was described in the Institutional History of ETH Zurich. The ETH-Bibliothek is also able to provide source material for research into the history of chemistry at ETH Zurich and elsewhere:

Holdings, resources

 Short portraits of researchers in various fields of chemistry (in German):

ETHeritage (external link) weblog: presentation of highlights from the Special Collections

In cooperation with the Foundation of the Works of C.G. Jung and with the financial support of the Dr. Donald C. Cooper Fund, the ETH-Bibliothek has digitized works on alchemy from the former personal library of C.G. Jung in Küsnacht.The titles are accessible online via e.rara.ch (external link).

2011: Internationales Jahr der Chemie

Hermann Staudinger

Professor Hermann Staudinger (1881 bis 1965) bei einem Experiment, ca. 1916 (Portr_13425)

 
Die ETH-Bibliothek besitzt zum Fachgebiet Chemie sowohl gedruckte und elektronische Dokumente als auch umfangreiche Bestände zur Geschichte der Chemie an der ETH Zürich. Sie stehen der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung und sind teilweise direkt online zugänglich.

Aus Anlass des internationalen Jahrs der Chemie 2011 gibt die ETH-Bibliothek einen Überblick über ihre fachbezogenen Bestände und Ressourcen:

Geschichte der Chemie an der ETH Zürich

Die Entwicklung der ehemaligen Abteilung IV von der breiten Fachausbildung hin zum stark ausdifferenzierten Departement Chemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften (D-CHAB) der Gegenwart wurde im Rahmen der Institutionsgeschichte der ETH Zürich verschiedentlich dargestellt. Die ETH-Bibliothek stellt für die weitere Erforschung der Geschichte der Chemie an der ETH Zürich und darüber hinaus grundlegendes Quellenmaterial zur Verfügung:

Bestände, Ressourcen

 Kurzporträts von Forschenden aus verschiedenen Gebieten der Chemie:

Weblog ETHeritage (Link verlässt diese Seite): Präsentation von Highlights aus den Spezialsammlungen

Die ETH-Bibliothek digitalisierte in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung der Werke von C.G. Jung und mit Unterstützung des Dr. Donald C. Cooper Fonds u. a. alchimistische Werke aus der Arbeitsbibliothek C.G. Jungs in Küsnacht. Die Titel sind über e.rara.ch (Link verlässt diese Seite) online zugänglich.