Adolf Hurwitz (1859–1919)

Professor of higher mathematics at ETH Zurich

Adolf Hurwitz was born on 26 March 1859 in Hildesheim, where he attended the municipal Realgymnasium. His teacher Hermann Schubert spotted and encouraged his talent for mathematics.

In 1877 Hurwitz followed Schubert's advice and embarked on a degree in mathematics at the Königlich Bayerische Technische Hochschule in Munich, where Felix Klein became his main teacher.

Berlin and Göttingen

After Munich, Hurwitz spent three semesters at Humboldt University in Berlin.

When Klein accepted a position at the University of Leipzig, Hurwitz followed him in 1880 and completed a doctorate on the basics of an independent theory of elliptic modular functions and the theory of first-level multiplier equations under Klein the following year. He then switched to the University of Göttingen, where he completed a postdoctoral degree and was appointed as a private lecturer.  

Frobenius' successor 

In 1884 he received an associate professorship in Königsberg, where he met Hermann Minkowski and David Hilbert, who were doing doctorates there. In 1892 he was appointed as Ferdinand Georg Frobenius' successor at ETH Zurich, where he worked for twenty-seven years until his death. The majority of Hurwitz's lectures were initially on differential calculus. After Minkowski's departure, Hurwitz took over his post at the Department of Mathematics in 1902. His lectures now focused on algebra, the theory of functions, number theory and algebraic equations. The Hurwitz polynomial and the Hurwitz criterion from the stability theory of dynamical systems are named after him.    

Adolf Hurwitz died in Zurich on 18 November 1919.

Manuscript

Excerpt of a letter from Adolf Hurwitz to Leopold Kronecker dated 25 September 1883

ETH-Bibliothek, ETH Zurich University Archives (Hs 583: 2 (external link))

Works (selection)

Holdings

The ETH Zurich University Archives' personal papers of Adolf Hurwitz consist of his "mathematical diaries" and scientific correspondence. These sources are available online on the platform e-manuscripta.ch (external link).

Adolf Hurwitz (1859–1919)

Professor für höhere Mathematik an der ETH Zürich

Adolf Hurwitz wurde am 26. März 1859 in Hildesheim geboren, wo er auch das städtische Realgymnasium besuchte. Sein Lehrer Hermann Schubert erkannte seine mathematische Begabung und förderte sie.

1877 begann Hurwitz auf Anraten Schuberts das Studium der Mathematik an der Königlich Bayerischen Technischen Hochschule in München, wo Felix Klein sein massgeblicher Lehrer wurde.

Berlin und Göttingen

Von München ging Hurwitz für drei Semester nach Berlin an die Humboldt-Universität.

Nachdem Klein einen Ruf an die Universität Leipzig angenommen hatte, folgte ihm Hurwitz 1880 dorthin und promovierte 1881 bei Klein über das Thema Grundlagen einer independenten Theorie der elliptischen Modulfunktionen und Theorie der Multiplikatorgleichungen erster Stufe. Danach wechselte er an die Universität Göttingen, wo er habilitierte und zum Privatdozenten ernannt wurde.

Nachfolge Frobenius

1884 erhielt er eine ausserordentliche Professur in Königsberg, wo er Hermann Minkowski und David Hilbert kennenlernte, die dort promovierten. Mit letzterem verband ihn eine lebenslange Freundschaft. 1892 wurde er der Nachfolger von Ferdinand Georg Frobenius an der ETH Zürich, wo er 27 Jahre lang bis zu seinem Tode wirkte. Zunächst hielt Hurwitz vor allem Vorlesungen über Differentialrechnung. Nach dem Weggang Minkowskis übernahm er ab 1902 dessen Posten im Mathematischen Seminar. Die Inhalte seiner Vorlesungen umfassten nun auch Algebra, Funktionentheorie, Zahlentheorie und algebraische Gleichungen. Nach ihm sind das Hurwitzpolynom und das Hurwitzkriterium aus der Stabilitätstheorie dynamischer Systeme benannt.

Adolf Hurwitz starb am 18. November 1919 in Zürich.

Handschrift

Briefausschnitt von Adolf Hurwitz an Leopold Kronecker vom 25. September 1883

ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich (Hs 583: 2 (Link verlässt diese Seite))

Werke (Auswahl)

Bestand

Der Nachlass Adolf Hurwitz im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich umfasst sowohl seine "Mathematischen Tagebücher" als auch wissenschattliche Korrespondenz. Diese Quellen sind online zugänglich über die Platfform e-manuscripta.ch (Link verlässt diese Seite). Über Leben und Werk von Adolf Hurwitz informieren ein biographisches Dossier und ein Nachlass, beides zu finden im.