Eduard Rübel (1876–1960)

Geobotanist

Eduard August Rübel was born in Zurich on 18 July 1876.

Following a chemistry degree at the Federal Polytechnic Institute in Zurich (now ETH Zurich) and a doctorate at the University of Zurich, he conducted botanical research as a scientist under ETH Zurich professor Carl Schröter (1855 to 1939). He became a private lecturer in botany at ETH Zurich in 1917 and an adjunct professor in 1923.

President the Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft (Swiss Naturalist Society)

He was President of the Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft (Swiss Naturalist Society) from 1929 to 1934, when he resigned as a lecturer at ETH Zurich to devote himself to family research (genealogy). In 1958 he bequeathed the Rübel Geobotanical Research Institute (external link) he had founded in 1918 to ETH Zurich.

His greatest scientific achievement is regarded as the advancement of plant geography via various monographs, including the standard work Die Pflanzengesellschaften der Erde from 1930.

Eduard Rübel died on 24 June 1960.

Manuscript

Letter to Arnold Heim

Brief an Arnold Heim

Eduard Rübel confirms that the Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft (Swiss Naturalist Society) will support Arnold Heim’s expedition to Nepal in 1935 with a grant of CHF 10,000. From Arnold Heim’s personal papers, Hs 495:2014.

Holdings

ETH-Bibliothek holds Eduard Rübel's personal papers (Hs 448) with numerous manuscripts and letters. The corresponding index (external link) can be accessed online. Diverse personal papers contain additional letters sent by Rübel. Moreover, besides his personal papers, the ETH Zurich University Archives also own a biographical file on Rübel, complete with numerous obituaries and brief biographical articles. Several portraits and group photographs are located in the Image Archive’s Portrait Collection.

Skizze Rübels

Illustrations from Rübel's article "Alpenmatten-Ueberwinterungsstrategien" for Carl Schröter's commemorative publication, taken from Rübel’s personal papers (Hs 448:19). They feature Curvuletum on the Diavolezzasee, which Rübel discovered under a two-metre blanket of snow at an altitude of 2,580 metres in January 1924. Hs 448: 19, Taf.II.

ETH-Bibliothek also owns numerous publications by Eduard Rübel, which are available for loan, and the commemorative publication for his sixtieth birthday (reports of the Botanical Society of Switzerland, No.46, 1936).

Eduard Rübel (1876–1960)

Geobotaniker

Eduard August Rübel wurde am 18. Juli 1876 in Zürich geboren.

Nach seinem Chemiestudium am Eidgenössischen Polytechnikum in Zürich und der Promotion an der Universität Zürich, unternahm er als Mitarbeiter des ETH-Professors Carl Schröter (1855 bis 1939) botanische Studien. 1917 wurde er an der ETH Privatdozent für Botanik und 1923 Titularprofessor.

Präsident der Schweizerischen Naturforschenden Gesellschaft

Von 1929 bis 1934 war er Präsident der Schweizerischen Naturforschenden Gesellschaft. 1934 trat er als Dozent der ETH zurück und widmete sich vor allem der Familienforschung (Genealogie). 1958 vermachte er das von ihm 1918 gegründete Geobotanische Forschungsinstitut Rübel der ETH Zürich.

Sein wissenschaftliches Hauptverdienst gilt der Förderung der Pflanzengeographie durch verschiedene Monographien, unter anderem das Standardwerk "Die Pflanzengesellschaften der Erde" von 1930.

Eduard Rübel starb am 24. Juni 1960.

Handschrift

Brief an Arnold Heim

Brief an Arnold Heim

Eduard Rübel bestätigt, dass die Schweizerische Naturforschende Gesellschaft Arnold Heims Expedition nach Nepal im Jahre 1935 mit einer finanziellen Beteiligung in der Höhe von CHF 10'000 unterstützt. Aus dem Nachlass Arnold Heim, Hs 495:2014.

Bestand

Die ETH-Bibliothek besitzt den Nachlass von Eduard Rübel (Hs 448) mit zahlreichen Manuskripten und Korrespondenzen. Das entsprechende Verzeichnis (Link verlässt diese Seite) ist online zugänglich. In diversen Nachlässen finden sich weitere Briefe mit Rübel als Absender. Ferner verfügen das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich neben dem Nachlass auch über ein biographisches Dossier von Eduard Rübel mit zahlreichen Nekrologen und kurzen biographischen Artikeln.
Mehrere Porträts und Gruppenfotos befinden sich in der Porträtsammlung des Bildarchivs.

Skizze Rübels

Illustrationen zu Rübels Artikel "Alpenmatten-Ueberwinterungsstrategien" für die Festschrift für Carl Schröter aus dem Nachlass Eduard Rübel (Hs 448:19). Abgebildet sind Curvuletum am Diavolezzasee, die Rübel im Januar 1924 auf einer Höhe von 2580 m unter einer zwei Meter dicken Schneedecke fand. Hs 448: 19, Taf.II.

Weiter besitzt die ETH-Bibliothek zahlreiche ausleihbare Publikationen von Eduard Rübel und die zu seinem 60. Geburtstag veröffentlichte Festschrift (Berichte der Schweizerischen Botanischen Gesellschaft (Link verlässt diese Seite), No.46, 1936).