Paul Bernays (1888–1977)

Professor of higher mathematics at ETH Zurich

Paul Bernays was born in London on 17 October 1888. Although a citizen of the City of Zurich, he came from a German-Jewish academic family and was raised in Berlin, where he attended the Köllnische Gymnasium from 1895 to 1907. He initially embarked on a degree at the Technische Hochschule Charlottenburg in 1907, but switched to the University of Berlin six months later, where he studied mathematics, philosophy and theoretical physics. He eventually moved to Göttingen to continue his studies.   

Promoting and habilitation

In the spring of 1912, he completed a PhD under Edmund Landau and at the end of the same year, a postdoctoral degree at the University of Zurich under Ernst Zermelo, who was a full professor at the time. From the end of 2012 to the spring of 1919, Bernays was a private lecturer at the University of Zurich. 

Cooperation with David Hilbert

In the autumn of 1917, he returned to Göttingen, where he worked for David Hilbert conducting basic mathematical research. In 1919 he completed a postdoctoral degree at the University of Göttingen and was an untenured associate professor from 1922.  

Second World War and research

As a Jew, he lost his position in Göttingen in 1933 and returned to Switzerland, where he gave special lectures on logic and the basics of mathematics at ETH Zurich. He qualified as a private lecturer at ETH Zurich for the winter semester 1939/1949 and was eventually appointed associate professor of higher mathematics in 1945, following a request from the Department of Mathematics and Physics. He resigned from this professorship in 1959. Bernays died in Zurich on 18 September 1977 after a short illness.

Although the majority of Bernays' research was devoted to basic questions of mathematics, he also tackled philosophical topics. He and David Hilbert co-wrote the ground-breaking two-volume workGrundlagen der Mathematik, which was published in 1934 and 1939.  

Manuscript

Bernays Handschrift

End of the letter from Paul Bernays to Hermann Weyl from 16 February 1935, thanking him for the very positive feedback on his bookGrundlagen der Mathematikand the invitation to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (ETH-Bibliothek Zurich, Hs 91:11).

Holdings

Paul Bernays is primarily present at ETH-Bibliothek thanks to his extensive handwritten personal papers (external link). These holdings, which are curated by the ETH Zurich University Archives, rank among the ever popular and useful science-historical sources and include manuscripts, letters and biographical documents.

Furthermore, the ETH Zurich University Archives also curate documents from the archives of the Swiss School Council on Paul Bernays' work at ETH Zurich and a biographical file with additional biographical information. Besides an extensive portrait file, ETH-Bibliothek's Image Archive also contains the audio recording of an interview with Bernays from the summer of 1977.

Paul Bernays (1888–1977)

Professor für höhere Mathematik an der ETH Zürich

Paul Bernays wurde am 17. Oktober 1888 in London geboren. Er war Bürger der Stadt Zürich, entstammte aber einer deutsch-jüdischen Gelehrtenfamilie. Er wuchs in Berlin auf, wo er in den Jahren 1895 bis 1907 das Köllnische Gymnasium besuchte. Das Studium begann er 1907 an der Technischen Hochschule Charlottenburg, wechselte aber nach einem halben Jahr zur Berliner Universität. Dort und in Göttingen studierte er im Hauptfach Mathematik, daneben Philosophie und theoretische Physik.

Promovierung und Habilitierung

Im Frühjahr 1912 promovierte er bei Edmund Landau und am Ende des gleichen Jahres habilitierte er sich, veranlasst durch den damaligen Ordinarius Ernst Zermelo, an der Universität Zürich. Von Ende 1912 bis zum Frühjahr 1919 war er Privatdozent an der Universität Zürich.

Zusammenarbeit mit David Hilbert

Ab Herbst 1917 hielt er sich wieder in Göttingen auf, wo er als Mitarbeiter von David Hilbert in der mathematischen Grundlagenforschung tätig war. Im Jahr 1919 habilitierte er sich an der Universität Göttingen und von 1922 an war er nichtbeamteter ausserordentlicher Professor.

Zweiter Weltkrieg und Forschungen

Als Jude verlor er 1933 seine Stelle in Göttingen. Er kehrte in die Schweiz zurück, wo er als Lehrbeauftragter an der ETH Spezialvorlesungen über Logik und Grundlagen der Mathematik übernahm. Er habilitierte sich als Privatdozent an der ETH auf das Wintersemester 1939/40 hin. Erst 1945, aufgrund eines Antrages der Abteilung für Mathematik und Physik, ernannte man ihn zum ausserordentlichen Professor für höhere Mathematik. Von dieser Professur trat er 1959 zurück. Er starb am 18. September 1977 in Zürich nach kurzer Krankheit.

Bernays' Forschungen waren vor allem Grundlagenfragen der Mathematik gewidmet, er befasste sich aber auch mit philosophischen Themen. Zusammen mit David Hilbert verfasste er das bahnbrechende zweibändige Werk "Grundlagen der Mathematik", das 1934 bzw. 1939 erschien.

Handschrift

Bernays Handschrift

Schluss des Briefes von Paul Bernays an Hermann Weyl vom 16. Februar 1935. Darin bedankt sich Bernays für die sehr positive Aufnahme seines Buches "Grundlagen der Mathematik" und für die Einladung an das Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton (ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, Hs 91:11).

Bestand

In der ETH-Bibliothek ist Paul Bernays vor allem durch seinen umfangreichen handschriftlichen Nachlass (Link verlässt diese Seite) präsent. Dieser Bestand, der vom Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich betreut wird, zählt zu den immer wieder mit Interesse und Gewinn konsultierten wissenschaftshistorischen Quellen und umfasst Manuskripte, Briefe und biographische Dokumente.

Im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich sind ferner die Unterlagen des Archivs des Schweizerischen Schulrates zur Tätigkeit Paul Bernays' an der ETH Zürich und ein biographisches Dossier mit weiteren biographischen Informationen aufbewahrt. Neben einem umfangreichen Porträt-Dossier befindet sich im Bildarchiv der ETH-Bibliothek die Tonbandaufzeichnung eines Interviews mit Paul Bernays, das im Sommer 1977 aufgenommen wurde.