Richard Willstätter (1872–1942)

Professor of general chemistry

Richard Willstätter was born in Karlsruhe on 13 August 1872 and died in Muralto (Ticino) on 3 August 1942.

He went to school in Nuremberg and studied chemistry at the University of Munich, where he was appointed as an associate professor of chemistry in 1902. Only three years later, he moved to ETH Zurich, where he held a chair of general chemistry until 1912.

He then continued his research and teaching activities in Berlin and, from 1916, back in Munich.

Interest in biochemistry

From an early stage, Willstätter's main interest was problems of general scientific importance, i.e. vital processes or biochemistry – still a relevant topic to this day. Using – by today's standards – simple methods, he addressed problems that constituted unchartered territory at the time. His research was successful because he planned the experiments clearly and took the view that nature should be researched using gentle, near-natural methods.

Study on chlorophyll and photosynthesis

The fact that he made epochal discoveries in classical organic chemistry and tackled complicated novel problems – such as his studies on chlorophyll, photosynthesis and enzymes – is crucial when taking stock of Willstätter's scientific achievements.   

Nobel Prize for Chemistry  

In 1915 he won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry for his studies on pigments in the plant kingdom, especially chlorophyll. In 1924 Willstätter resigned and became a freelancer in the chemical industry. In 1939 he fled from the Gestapo to Switzerland, spending the last three years of his life in Locarno.   

Manuscript

Brief von Richard Willstätter

Letter from Richard Willstätter to the President of the ETH Board, Robert Gnehm, from 27 September 1915.
(ETH-Bibliothek, ETH Zurich University Archives, SR3:1945)

In the letter, he thanks Gnehm for his congratulations on the Nobel Prize and gratefully recalls his years at ETH Zurich, where he carried out the majority of his work on plant pigments in its laboratories.

Holdings

The ETH Zurich University Archives contain documents by Richard Willstätter belonging to the Stoll family. The main items in these personal papers are manuscripts by Willstätter, his pupil and assistant Arthur Stoll and their private correspondence, along with publications by and about Richard Willstätter. The personal paper index (external link) can be viewed online.

Moreover, the biographical dossier in the ETH Zurich University Archives provides additional details on the life and work of Richard Willstätter and the School Board Archives contain extensive information on his activities as a professor at ETH Zurich.

Richard Willstätter (1872–1942)

Professor für allgemeine Chemie

Richard Willstätter wurde am 13. August 1872 in Karlsruhe geboren und starb am 3. August 1942 in Muralto (TI).

Die Mittelschulen durchlief er in Nürnberg. Willstätter studierte an der Universität München Chemie und wurde ebendort 1902 zum ausserordentlichen Professor für Chemie ernannt. Bereits 1905 folgte er dem Ruf an die ETH Zürich, wo er bis 1912 den Lehrstuhl für allgemeine Chemie innehatte.

Seine Forscher- und Lehrtätigkeit führte er nach 1912 in Berlin weiter und ab 1916 erneut in München.

Interesse an Biochemie

Willstätters Interesse galt schon früh den Problemen allgemein naturwissenschaftlicher Bedeutung, das heisst der Lebensvorgänge oder Biochemie – ein bis zum heutigen Tag aktuelles Thema. Mit heute einfach anmutenden Mitteln hat er Probleme aufgegriffen, die damals Neuland erschlossen. Seine Forschungen waren erfolgreich, weil er die Versuche klar plante und die Auffassung vertrat, man müsse die Natur mit schonenden, naturnahen Methoden erforschen.

Studie über Chlorophyll und Photosynthese

Wesentlich für die Beurteilung von Willstätters wissenschaftlicher Leistung ist, dass er sowohl epochemachende Entdeckungen in der klassischen organischen Chemie gemacht als auch komplizierte neuartige Probleme – wie die Studien über das Chlorophyll, die Photosynthese und die Enzyme – angepackt hat.

Nobelpreis für Chemie

Für seine Untersuchungen der Farbstoffe im Pflanzenreich, vor allem des Chlorophylls, wurde ihm 1915 der Nobelpreis für Chemie verliehen. 1924 trat Willstätter zurück und wurde freier Mitarbeiter in der chemischen Industrie. 1939 floh er vor der Gestapo in die Schweiz, wo er in Locarno die letzten drei Jahre seines Lebens verbrachte.

Handschrift

Brief von Richard Willstätter

Brief von Richard Willstätter an den Präsidenten des Schweizerischen Schulrates, Robert Gnehm,
vom 27. September 1915. (ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv, SR3:1945)

Im Brief bedankt er sich für die Glückwünsche zum Nobelpreis und erinnert sich dabei mit Dankbarkeit an seine Jahre an der ETH Zürich, in deren Laboratorien er seine Arbeiten über Pflanzenfarbstoffe zum grossen Teil ausgeführt hat.

Bestand

Im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich liegen Dokumente von Richard Willstätter aus dem Besitz der Familie Stoll. Hauptbestandteile dieses Nachlasses sind Manuskripte Willstätters, seines Schülers und Assistenten Arthur Stoll sowie deren private Korrespondenz. Dazu kommen Publikationen von und über Richard Willstätter. Das Nachlassverzeichnis (Link verlässt diese Seite) kann online eingesehen werden.

Darüber hinaus bietet das Biographische Dossier zu Richard Willstätter im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich weitere Angaben zu Leben und Werk, und über seine Tätigkeit als Professor der ETH Zürich enthält das Schulratsarchiv zahlreiche Informationen.