Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen (1845–1923)

Physicist

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen came into the world in the little Prussian town of Lennep on 25 March 1845 as the son of a Rheinland cloth merchant. Presumably for business reasons, the family moved to the Dutch town of Apeldoorn. After attending a private school, Röntgen continued his education at the Technical School in Utrecht from August 1862. Two years later, however, he was rejected for the "Abitur" (equivalent of A-Levels) on disciplinary grounds, despite his excellent marks.

Application at the Federal Polytechnic Institute

This rejection and a failed entrance exam meant that he could not complete a fully recognised degree in the Netherlands. This fact prompted him – after one-year stint as a guest lecturer at the University of Utrecht – to apply to the Federal Polytechnic Institute in Zurich.

Admission at the Federal Polytechnic Institute

The Polytechnic normally demanded a successful entrance exam as an admission requirement for a degree. Nevertheless Röntgen was accepted as a student at the Mechanical-Technical School (Department III) in the winter semester of 1865/66 without an exam on account of his "mature age" of twenty and "admirable record at the Technical School in Utrecht, especially in mathematics" (ETH Library, ETH Zurich University Archives, EZ-REK 1/1/1837, Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen's student register, letter from Moritz Schröter to Gustav Zeuner dated 23 November 1865). Röntgen completed his first degree three years later on 6 August 1868 with a diploma in mechanical engineering.

Postgraduated course under August Kundt

He added another string to his bow with a postgraduate degree in physics under Professor August Kundt, who was only six years his senior. The encounter with Kundt would shape the rest of his research career. On 22 June 1868 Röntgen completed a doctorate at the neighbouring University of Zurich with his thesis "Studien über Gase" (Studies on Gases), which was supervised by Gustav Zeuner and examined the connection between thermodynamics and the properties of gases. In 1870 he followed his mentor, August Kundt, to the University of Wurzburg as an assistant, where he did not qualify as a professor, however, on account of his lack of an Abitur. Nonetheless, he eventually became a professor when both physicists moved to the University of Strasbourg on 13 March 1874.

Stay abroad

Two years later, following a brief spell as a professor of mathematics and physics at the Landwirtschaftliche Akademie in Hohenheim, Röntgen was also appointed as an associate professor and head of the 2nd Chair of Physics in Strasbourg at Kundt's recommendation. In 1879 he became a full professor at the University of Giessen. In 1888 he was appointed as full professor of Physics at the University of Wurzburg and as head of the Physical Institute.

Discovery the rays

It was at this university that, on 8 November 1895, he discovered as yet unknown rays when working with cathode ray tubes – widespread among physicists at the time – which he christened x-rays in his subsequent ground-breaking publication "Ueber eine neue Art von Strahlen" (About a New Kind of Rays) after the unknown in mathematics. Early photographs of hand bones proved the existence of the rays as the first "x-ray images" in history and already bode well for medical use. Five years later, Röntgen became a professor in Munich, where he remained until 1920. Through his discovery of the x-ray, the German word for which is actually named after him (Röntgenstrahlung), which hailed a new era of medical diagnostics and therapy and the structural detection of crystals and molecules, Röntgen became world-famous and received the first Nobel Prize for Physics (external link) on 10 December 1901.  

Other scientific achievements

His other scientific achievements are less well-known outside the research world: for instance, he succeeded in confirming the birefringence of liquids in an electrical field that Kerr had expected (Kerr effect). In Giessen, Germany, he provided evidence that a magnetic effect is created in dielectric material moved between electrically charged capacitor plates, i.e. by the Röntgen current, a term coined by Hendrik Antoon Lorentz. Moreover, he managed to find evidence of the displacement current predicted by Maxwell's Theory.

Röntgen, who died in poverty (as a result of inflation) in Giessen on 10 February 1923, shied away from the public eye during his lifetime. For instance, he only ever held one single talk on his discovery of x-rays and declined the invitation to his Nobel Prize speech. Nor did he have his valuable discovery patented, which probably accelerated its utilisation in various fields.

Manuscript

Letter from Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen to the Board of the Federal Technical Institute in Zurich dated 16 November 1865
Letter from Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen to the Board of the Federal Technical Institute in Zurich dated 16 November 1865 
(ETH-Bibliothek, ETH Zurich University Archives, letter from EZ-REK 1/1/1837, Student Register)

Holdings

ETH Zurich University Archives holds Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen's student register (external link), which also includes the correspondence concerning his acceptance process for the Polytechnic. Information on Röntgen's studies can also be found on the platform Schulratsprotokolle­ Online.  

A biographical dossier also documents his life, work and reception in the form of newspaper articles and obituaries. The holding Hs 733 contains a script for a scheduled documentary on Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen from 1965/66.

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen (1845–1923)

Physiker

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen erblickte am 25. März 1845 in der preussischen Kleinstadt Lennep als Sohn eines rheinländischen Tuchhändlers das Licht der Welt. Vermutlich aus geschäftlichen Gründen zog die Familie 1848 in das niederländische Apeldoorn. Nach dem Abschluss einer Privatschule setzte Röntgen ab August 1862 seine Ausbildung an der Technischen Schule in Utrecht fort. Dort wurde ihm allerdings aus disziplinarischen Gründen nach zweijähriger Schulzeit trotz ausgezeichneter Zeugnisse das Abitur verweigert.

Bewerbung am Eidgenössischen Polytechnikum

Die daraus und aus einer misslungenen Zulassungsprüfung resultierende Unmöglichkeit in den Niederlanden ein vollwertig anerkanntes Studium zu absolvieren, veranlasste ihn – nach einjährigem Aufenthalt als Gasthörer an der Universität Utrecht – zu einer Bewerbung am Eidgenössischen Polytechnikum in Zürich.

Aufnahme am Eidgenössischen Polytechnikum

Das Polytechnikum verlangte grundsätzlich eine bestandene Aufnahmeprüfung als Zulassungsbedingung für ein Studium. Trotzdem wurde Wilhelm Konrad Röntgen aufgrund seines "reiferen Alters" von 20 Jahren und seiner "vortrefflichen Zeugnisse namentlich in den mathematischen Fächern der technischen Schule in Utrecht" im Wintersemester 1865/66 prüfungsfrei als Student in die mechanisch-technische Schule (Abteilung III) aufgenommen (ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, EZ-REK 1/1/1837, Matrikel Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, Brief von Moritz Schröter an Gustav Zeuner vom 23. November 1865). Mit dem Erhalt eines Diplomes als Maschinenbauingenieur am 6. August 1868 beendete Röntgen sein erstes Studium drei Jahre später.

Aufbaustudium bei August Kundt

Er vertiefte seine Kenntnisse mit einem Aufbaustudium in Physik bei dem nur sechs Jahre älteren Professor August Kundt. Die Begegnung mit Kundt sollte für den weiteren Verlauf seines Forscherlebens wegweisend werden. Am 22. Juni 1868 promovierte Röntgen an der benachbarten Universität Zürich mit der von Gustav Zeuner betreuten Arbeit "Studien über Gase", in der er sich mit der Verbindung von Thermodynamik und den Eigenschaften von Gasen befasste. Danach begleitete er seinen Mentor August Kundt 1870 als Assistent an die Universität Würzburg, wurde dort aufgrund des fehlenden Abiturs jedoch nicht habilitiert. Seine Habilitation erfolgte erst nach dem Wechsel beider Physiker an die Universität Strassburg am 13. März 1874.

Auslandaufenthalt

Zwei Jahre später wurde Röntgen, nach einem Intermezzo als Professor für Mathematik und Physik an der Landwirtschaftlichen Akademie in Hohenheim, auf Anraten Kundts ebenfalls in Strassburg zum Extraordinarius und Leiter des zweiten Lehrstuhles für Physik ernannt. 1879 erhielt er eine ordentliche Professur an der Universität Giessen. 1888 berief ihn die Universität Würzburg als ordentlichen Professor für Physik und Leiter des Physikalischen Instituts.

Entdeckung der Strahlen

An dieser Universität entdeckte er am 8. November 1895 bei der – damals unter Physikern verbreiteten – Arbeit mit Kathodenstrahlröhren noch unbekannte Strahlen, die er in seiner kurz darauf veröffentlichten bahnbrechenden Publikation "Ueber eine neue Art von Strahlen", angelehnt an die Unbekannte in der Mathematik, X-Strahlen nannte. Frühe Fotografien von Handknochen belegten als erste "Röntgen-Aufnahmen" der Geschichte die Existenz der Strahlen und liessen deren medizinische Nutzung bereits erahnen. Fünf Jahre später wurde Röntgen bis 1920 Professor in München. Durch seine Entdeckung der im deutschen Sprachraum bald nach ihm benannten Röntgenstrahlung, die eine neue Ära der medizinischen Diagnostik und Therapie sowie der Strukturbestimmung von Kristallen und Molekülen einleitete, erlangte Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen Weltruhm und konnte am 10. Dezember 1901 den ersten Nobelpreis für Physik (Link verlässt diese Seite) entgegennehmen.

Weitere Entdeckungen

Über die Fachwelt hinaus weniger bekannt geworden sind weitere seiner wissenschaftlichen Leistungen: so gelang ihm die Bestätigung der von Kerr erwarteten Doppelbrechung von Flüssigkeiten im elektrischen Feld (Kerr-Effekt). In Giessen erbrachte er den Nachweis, dass in einem zwischen elektrisch aufgeladenen Kondensatorplatten bewegten Dielektrikum eine magnetische Wirkung entsteht, das heisst des von Hendrik Antoon Lorentz so benannten Röntgen-Stroms. Zudem gelang ihm der Nachweis des nach der Maxwellschen Theorie vorhergesagten Verschiebungsstromes.

Röntgen, der am 10. Februar 1923 in Giessen in Folge der Inflation unter ärmlichen Bedingungen verstarb, mied die öffentliche Anerkennung Zeit seines Lebens. So hielt er zu seiner Entdeckung der X-Strahlen nur einen einzigen öffentlichen Vortrag und lehnte die Einladung zu seinem Nobelpreisvortrag ab. Ebenso verzichtete er darauf, seine wertvolle Entdeckung patentieren zu lassen, was ihre Nutzbarmachung in verschiedenen Bereichen wohl beschleunigte.

Handschrift

Brief von Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen an die Leitung des Eidgenössischen Polytechnikums in Zürich, 16. November 1865

ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, Brief aus EZ-REK 1/1/1837, Matrikel

Bestand

Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich bewahrt die Matrikel (Link verlässt diese Seite) von Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen auf. Darin befindet sich auch die Korrespondenz betreffend seines Aufnahmeverfahrens ans Polytechnikum. Über Röntgens Studium kann zusätzlich in der Plattform Schulratsprotokolle­ Online recherchiert werden.  

Ein biographisches Dossier dokumentiert Leben, Werk und Rezeption zusätzlich in Form von Zeitungsartikeln und Nekrologen. Im Bestand Hs 733 findet sich ein Skript zu einem geplanten Dokumentarfilm über Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen von 1965/66.