ETH Zurich University Archives

The ETH Zurich University Archives are responsible for safeguarding, indexing and mediating any documents of lasting value that belong to ETH Zurich and the ETH Board. They also look after personal scientific papers. Permanently updated documentation on the history of science and the university rounds off the archival holdings and offers researchers biographical information on prominent figures from the university's past. 

Administrative records

Since they were established in 1999, the ETH Zurich University Archives have systematically acquired documents of archival value from the administration of ETH Zurich and the ETH Board. Before that, ETH Library only occasionally acquired older individual records.

Holdings

  • Presidential decrees, minutes of meetings and records of the Swiss School Board (1854 to 1992)
  • Documents from organisational units of the ETH Board (since 1993)
  • Documents from the Executive Board and organisational units of ETH Zurich (since 1854)

The Federal Act on Archiving (ArchA) (external link) serves as the basis for the acquisition, storage and use of the archival material. Organisational units of ETH Zurich and the ETH Board are subject to a duty to provide information.

Based on the ArchA and taking the principle of public access into account, records are subject to a protection period of thirty years. In the case of personal data that is particularly worthy of protection, this protection period increases to fifty years.

  • Pre-archiving consultation: the ETH Zurich University Archives advise organisational units on the maintenance and development of conventional record systems and digital record management, and helps them fulfil their duty to provide information in accordance with the Federal Act on Archiving (ArchA) (external link).
  • Long-term preservation of digital documents: the ETH Zurich University Archives also acquire and index genuine digital documents from organisational units at ETH Zurich and the ETH Board, and ensures the long-term curation and accessibility of digital data of archival value in collaboration with the Digital Curation Office.

Personal papers, donations, individual acquisitions

Ever since it was founded, ETH Library has received document donations from people connected to ETH Zurich. In exceptional cases, however, documents of particular value are purchased for ETH Zurich. Moreover, the University Archives also acquire archives from associations and societies that are near and dear to ETH Zurich.

Holdings (selection)

  • Work psychology, psychology: C.G. Jung Papers Collection, Hans Biäsch
  • Astronomy: Rudolf Wolf, Alfred Wolfer, Max Waldmeier
  • Civil engineering: Karl Culmann, Robert Maillart, Fritz Stüssi
  • Chemistry: Richard Willstätter, Vladimir Prelog, Leopold Ruzicka
  • Geology and the natural sciences: Arnold Escher von der Linth, Oswald Heer, Louis Rollier, Karl Mayer-Eymar, Albert Heim, Arnold Heim
  • Mathematics: Paul Bernays, Wilhelm Fiedler, Heinz Hopf, Adolf Hurwitz, Hermann Weyl, Eduard Stiefel, Heinz Rutishauser, George Pólya
  • Physics: Erwin Schrödinger, Carl Seelig’s Albert Einstein documentation, Wolfgang Pauli (in addition to the holdings in the CERN Pauli Archive (external link))

  • Student associations: Association of Students at ETH Zurich (VSETH), Architektura, Verein der Mathematik- und Physikstudierenden an der ETH Zürich et cetera.
  • Scientific societies: Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Forschung, Swiss Mathematical Society et cetera.
  • Subject-based archives with contents related to ETH Zurich: Archives of the History of Nuclear Energy in Switzerland (business papers from the nuclear power station Kaiseraugst AG and records of key players), Gotthard Railway records et cetera.

Donation agreements, data protection and copyright determine the use and accessibility of private donations.
The University Archives endeavour to make documents available to researchers as swiftly as possible.

  • Personal papers are usually described in summary form and occasionally in detail on the Knowledge Portal and the Archivdatenbank Online (external link).
  • Holdings that are not recorded in detail electronically are indexed in full via an internal card catalogue.
  • Selected holdings are described in personal paper indexes (external link) which can be ordered as a hard copy or viewed electronically on the Knowledge Portal.
  • Personal papers and autographs are constantly digitised and rendered accessible on the web portal e-manuscripta.ch (external link) while taking the legal framework into account.
  • Order the documents you require directly from the ETH-Zurich University Archives or via this form. Please register in advance. The documents can be used on site in the Reading Room Collections and Archives

Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich

Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich ist zuständig für die Sicherung, Erschliessung und Vermittlung sämtlicher Unterlagen von bleibendem Wert der ETH Zürich und des ETH-Rates. Daneben betreut es wissenschaftliche Privatnachlässe. Laufend erweiterte Dokumentationen zu Wissenschafts- und Hochschulgeschichte ergänzen die Archivbestände und bieten den Forschenden biographische Informationen zu Persönlichkeiten der Hochschulgeschichte.

Verwaltungsschriftgut

Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich übernimmt seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1999 systematisch archivwürdige Dokumente aus der Verwaltung der ETH Zürich sowie des ETH-Rats. Ältere Dienstunterlagen wurden bereits zuvor vereinzelt von der ETH-Bibliothek übernommen.

Bestand

  • Präsidialverfügungen, Sitzungsprotokolle und Akten des Schweizerischen Schulrats (1854 bis 1992)
  • Unterlagen aus Organisationseinheiten des ETH-Rates (seit 1993)
  • Unterlagen aus der Schulleitung und Organisationseinheiten der ETH Zürich (seit 1854)

Als Grundlage für Übernahme, Aufbewahrung und Nutzung des Archivguts dient das Bundesgesetz über die Archvierung (BGA) (Link verlässt diese Seite). Organisationseinheiten der ETH Zürich sowie des ETH-Rats unterstehen einer Anbietepflicht.

Auf der Grundlage des BGA und unter Berücksichtigung des Öffentlichkeitsprinzips unterliegen Akten einer Schutzfrist von 30 Jahren. Im Falle von besonders schützenswerten Personendaten besteht eine erhöhte Schutzfrist von 50 Jahren.

  • Vorarchivische Beratung: Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich berät Organisationseinheiten bei Pflege und Aufbau von konventionellen Aktenablagen wie auch digitalem Recordsmanagement und unterstützt sie bei der Erfüllung ihrer Anbietepflicht gemäss Bundesgesetz über die Archvierung (BGA) (Link verlässt diese Seite).
  • Dauerhafte Sicherung digitaler Unterlagen: Das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich übernimmt und erschliesst auch genuin digitale Dokumente aus Organisationseinheiten der ETH Zürich und des ETH-Rates und sorgt in Zusammenarbeit mit der Fachstelle Digitaler Datenerhalt für die langfristige Erhaltung und Zugänglichkeit archivwürdiger digitaler Daten.

Nachlässe, Schenkungen, Einzelerwerbungen

Seit ihrer Gründung erhält die ETH-Bibliothek Schenkungen von Unterlagen von Personen mit Bezug zur ETH Zürich. In Ausnahmefällen werden Dokumente von besonderem Wert für die ETH Zürich käuflich erworben. Darüber hinaus übernimmt das Hochschularchiv auch Archive von Vereinen und Gesellschaften, die der ETH Zürich nahe stehen.

Bestand (Auswahl)

  • Arbeitspsychologie, Psychologie: C.G. Jung-Arbeitsarchiv, Hans Biäsch
  • Astronomie: Rudolf Wolf, Alfred Wolfer, Max Waldmeier
  • Bauingenieurwesen: Karl Culmann, Robert Maillart, Fritz Stüssi
  • Chemie: Richard Willstätter, Vladimir Prelog, Leopold Ruzicka
  • Geologie und Naturwissenschaften: Arnold Escher von der Linth, Oswald Heer, Louis Rollier, Karl Mayer-Eymar, Albert Heim, Arnold Heim
  • Mathematik: Paul Bernays, Wilhelm Fiedler, Heinz Hopf, Adolf Hurwitz, Hermann Weyl, Eduard Stiefel, Heinz Rutishauser, George Pólya
  • Physik: Erwin Schrödinger, Carl Seeligs Albert Einstein-Dokumentation, Wolfgang Pauli (ergänzend zu den Beständen des Pauli Archivs am CERN (Link verlässt diese Seite))

  • Studentische Vereinigungen: Vereinigung der Studierenden an der ETH (VSETH), Architektura, Verein der Mathematik- und Physikstudierenden an der ETH Zürich unter anderem.
  • Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaften: Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Forschung, Schweizerische Mathematische Gesellschaft unter anderem.
  • Thematische Archive mit inhaltlichem Bezug: Archiv zur Geschichte der Kernenergie in der Schweiz (Geschäftsunterlagen der Kernkraftwerk Kaiseraugst AG und Akten bedeutender Akteure), Gotthardbahnakten unter anderem.

Schenkungsvertrag, Datenschutz sowie Urheberrecht bestimmen die Möglichkeiten der Nutzung und Zugänglichkeit von Schenkungen aus privater Hand.
Das Hochschularchiv ist bestrebt, Unterlagen so rasch als möglich der Forschung zugänglich zu machen.

  • Verzeichnete Nachlässe sind meist summarisch, vereinzelt detailliert im Wissensportal und in der Archivdatenbank Online ausgewiesen.
  • Elektronisch nicht detailliert verzeichnete Bestände sind über einen internen Zettelkatalog vollständig erschlossen.
  • Ausgewählte Bestände sind in Nachlassverzeichnissen (Link verlässt diese Seite) erschlossen, die im Wissensportal in gedruckter Form bestellt oder elektronisch eingesehen werden können.
  • Nachlässe und Autographen werden fortlaufend digitalisiert und unter Berücksichtigung der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen im Webportal e-manuscripta.ch (Link verlässt diese Seite) zugänglich gemacht.
  • Bestellen Sie die gewünschten Archivalien direkt beim Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich oder via Formular. Um Voranmeldung wird gebeten. Die Benutzung erfolgt vor Ort im Lesesaal Sammlungen und Archive.