Princeton (1933–1955)

The Institute for Advanced Studies in Princeton ( New Jersey) gave Einstein 1933 a post. This newly-founded research organisation saw as its role the promotion of further education by young university graduates, by facilitating unconventional contact with top scientists. Already in 1932, Einstein had assured the head, Abraham Flexner, that he wished to be involved in the project.

He liked the life there, as there too he was free of any teaching- and research obligations. In the mornings he was mostly to be found at the institute. In the afternoons he preferred to be at home, where he met friends and personalities from science and politics.

In 1939 Einstein pointed out the possibility of constructing an atomic bomb to President Roosevelt, and mentioned his fears that Germany, with its aggressive government, could achieve this before the rest of the world. However, his ideas did not have much of an effect. Only in 1941 was the Manhattan Engineering District founded, where the atomic bomb was eventually developed.

Otherwise, he continued work on the generalisation of the theory of gravitation, on which he had been working constantly since 1916. In 1946 he presented his first draft of the field equation for a general field theory and from then on adhered to this basic concept.

In the 1950s he corresponded actively with his first biographer, Carl Seelig, whose private collection of documents from and about Einstein is to be found in the ETH-Bibliothek (Archives and Private Collections).

Einstein died in Princeton on April 18th 1955.

Documents to the time in Princeton (German)

Correspondence with Carl Seelig

Additional correspondence

Princeton (1933–1955)

Das "Institute for Advanced Studies" in Princeton (New Jersey) nahm Einstein 1933 auf. Diese gerade neu gegründete Forschungsstätte sah ihre Aufgabe darin, jungen Akademikern nach dem Studienabschluss Gelegenheit zu geben, sich in unkonventionellem Kontakt mit Wissenschaftlern ersten Ranges weiter zu bilden. Schon 1932 hatte Einstein ihrem Leiter Abraham Flexner zugesagt, an dem Projekt mitzuwirken.

Die Lebensbedingungen hier gefielen ihm, denn auch jetzt war er frei von Lehr- und Forschungsverpflichtungen. Am Morgen war er meistens im Institut anzutreffen. Am Nachmittag war er gerne zu Hause, traf Freunde und Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft und Politik.

1939 machte Einstein den amerikanischen Präsidenten Roosevelt auf die Möglichkeit der Konstruktion einer Atombombe aufmerksam, und zwar aus der Befürchtung heraus, Deutschland mit seiner aggressiven Regierung könnte der Welt damit zuvorkommen. Er bewirkte damit aber nicht viel. Erst Ende 1941 wurde das "Manhatten Engineering District" gegründet, wo die Atombombe schliesslich entwickelt wurde.

Ansonsten arbeitete er weiterhin an der Verallgemeinerung der Gravitationstheorie, die ihn seit 1916 unablässig beschäftigte. 1946 legte er den ersten Entwurf der Feldgleichungen für eine allgemeine Feldtheorie vor und hielt an dieser Grundkonzeption fortan fest.

In den 1950er Jahren unterhielt er eine rege Korrespondenz mit seinem ersten Biographen Carl Seelig, dessen Sammlung von Dokumenten von und über Einstein sich heute in der ETH Bibliothek (Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich) befindet.

Am 18. April 1955 starb Einstein in Princeton.

Dokumente zur Zeit in Princeton

Korrespondenz mit Carl Seelig

Übrige Korrespondenz