Karl Alexander Müller (*1927), Georg Bednorz (*1950)

Nobel Prize winners for physics

Karl Alexander Müller and Johannes Georg Bednorz

IBM Research Laboratory. Image Archive ETH-Bibliothek

On 8 December 1987 Swiss physicist Karl Alexander Müller and German mineralogist Georg Bednorz won the Nobel Prize in Physics for their discovery of high-temperature superconductivity in ceramics. This came as the crowning achievement of their longstanding collaboration at the IBM Research Lab in Rüschlikon.

Career of Karl Alexander Müller

Karl Alexander Müller was born in Basel on 20 April 1927. After the sudden death of his mother, he attended the Evangelische Mittelschule in Schiers from the age of eleven, where he developed a keen interest in electrical engineering. However, his chemistry teacher persuaded him to embark on a degree in physics. After leaving school and completing his national service, he studied physics at ETH Zurich from 1946 to 1952, including under the tutelage of Paul Scherrer and Wolfgang Pauli. Following a diploma thesis supervised by Professor G. Busch and a number of years gathering experience as an assistant and in industry, he completed a doctorate in paramagnetic resonance at ETH Zurich in 1958.    

From 1959 to 1963, Müller was the head of the magnetic resonance group at the Battelle Memorial Institute in Geneva before moving to the IBM Research Lab in Rüschlikon, where he went on to run the Physics Department from 1971. As an IBM Fellow, he was able to devote his full attention to independent basic research from 1982. Müller was also a private lecturer at the University of Zurich from 1962, where he became an adjunct professor in 1970 and ultimately a full professor in 1987. 

Life of Georg Bednorz

Georg Bednorz was born in Neuenkirchen, Germany, on 16 May 1950. He already began to develop an interest in practical mechanic and the sciences during his childhood. He embarked on a degree in chemistry at the University of Münster in 1968 but, overwhelmed by the sheer number of students, soon switched to mineralogy, specialising in crystallography. Bednorz spent the summer of 1972 at the IBM Research Lab in Rüschlikon, where Karl Alexander Müller had just been appointed as Head of the Physics Department.

At the Zurich research lab, which he visited once again in 1973 and 1974, he began to turn his attention to the characterisation and crystal growth of perovskites, which was the subject of his diploma thesis. Upon completing his degree in Münster, Bednorz embarked on a doctorate at ETH Zurich's Laboratory for Solid Particle Physics (under the tutelage of Heini Gränicher and Karl Alexander Müller (external link)) in 1977, which he completed in 1982 before joining Müller’s research team in Rüschlikon.

Collaboration of Müller and Bednorz

Bednorz and Müller began their joint, systematic analyses of the electric conductivity of ceramic materials formed from copper oxides in 1983. More specifically, their research focussed on identifying materials that conducted electric current without resistance at higher temperatures above absolute zero than the superconductive materials known at the time.   

Discovery and further progress

In 1986 the two researchers discovered a ceramic material made of barium, lanthanum, copper and oxygen, in which electricity only flowed loss-free at minus 238 degrees (or 35 K). They therefore debunked the previous theories, which claimed that superconductivity would only appear from minus 250 degrees. The ground-breaking discovery meant that the new superconductor no longer had to be stored in helium, which was expensive and difficult to manage, but was just the ticket for liquid nitrogen, which was easier to control. The great response to the new high-temperature superconductor was also down to the fact that its economically and technologically lucrative utilisation was especially promising in the field of power engineering. It was assumed that a successful application and implementation of superconductivity would enable a significant number material and energy resources to be conserved.          

While Karl Alexander Müller continued to work as a professor until his retirement in 1994, Georg Bednorz was also appointed as an IBM Fellow in 1987 and has been a member of the Executive Board at the University of Münster since 2008. 

Holdings

Information on the life and work of Karl Alexander Müller and Georg Bednorz is available in their biographical dossiers in the ETH Zurich University Archives, which also include Müller's enrolment and doctoral documents and Bednorz's doctoral documents. The Historical School Board Archive also contains additional information on Müller's degree, the records of which are accessible online: Schulratsprotokolle Online (external link). There are also two letters from Karl Alexander Müller to Res Jost in the University Archives.

Karl Alexander Müller (*1927), Georg Bednorz (*1950)

Nobelpreisträger für Physik

Karl Alexander Müller und Johannes Georg Bednorz

IBM-Forschungslabor. Bildarchiv der ETH-Bibliothek

Am 8. Dezember 1987 nahmen der Schweizer Physiker Karl Alexander Müller und der deutsche Mineraloge Georg Bednorz für ihre Entdeckung der Hochtemperatur-Supraleitung in keramischen Werkstoffen den Nobelpreis für Physik entgegen. Dieser krönte die jahrelange Zusammenarbeit am IBM-Forschungslaboratorium in Rüschlikon.

Werdegang von Karl Alexander Müller

Karl Alexander Müller wurde am 20. April 1927 in Basel geboren. Nach dem frühen Tod seiner Mutter zum Halbwaisen geworden, besuchte er ab dem 11. Altersjahr die Evangelische Mittelschule in Schiers. Dort entwickelte er ein reges Interesse für Elektrotechnik, wurde von seinem Chemielehrer aber von einem Physikstudium überzeugt. Nach Abschluss der Maturität und des Militärdienstes studierte er von 1946 bis 1952 an der ETH Zürich Physik, wobei Paul Scherrer und Wolfgang Pauli zu seinen Lehrern zählten. Nach einer bei Prof. G. Busch verfassten Diplomarbeit und einigen Jahren Arbeitserfahrung als Assistent und in der Industrie promovierte er 1958 ebenfalls an der ETH Zürich zu einem Thema der paramagnetischen Resonanz.

Von 1959 bis 1963 war Müller Leiter der Magnetresonanz-Gruppe am Battelle Memorial Institute in Genf. Danach wechselte er an das IBM-Forschungslabor in Rüschlikon, wo er ab 1971 die Physikabteilung leitete. In der Stellung eines IBM Fellow war es ihm ab 1982 möglich, sich ganz der freien Grundlagenforschung zu widmen. Daneben dozierte Müller ab 1962 als Privatdozent an der Universität Zürich und wurde dort 1970 zum Titularprofessor und schliesslich 1987 zum ordentlichen Professor ernannt.

Leben von Georg Bednorz

Georg Bednorz kam am 16. Mai 1950 im deutschen Neuenkirchen zur Welt. Schon in seiner Kindheit begann er sich für praktische Fragen der Mechanik und die Naturwissenschaften zu interessieren. Ab 1968 begann er an der Universität Münster ein Chemiestudium, wechselte aber aufgrund der hohen Studierendenzahl bald in das Fach Mineralogie und legte seinen Schwerpunkt auf Kristallographie. Den Sommer 1972 verbrachte Bednorz als Sommerstudent im Forschungslabor der IBM in Rüschlikon, wo Karl Alexander Müller eben Leiter der Physikabteilung geworden war.

Im Zürcher Forschungslabor, das er 1973 und 1974 erneut besuchte, begann sich Bednorz mit der Charakterisierung und dem Kristallwachstum von Perovskiten zu befassen, worüber er auch seine Diplomarbeit verfasste. Nach Beendigung seines Studiums in Münster begann Bednorz (unter der Anleitung von Heini Gränicher und Karl Alexander Müller (Link verlässt diese Seite)) 1977 mit einer Promotion am Laboratorium für Festkörperphysik der ETH Zürich, die er 1982 beendete. Danach schloss er sich dem Forscherteam um Karl Alexander Müller in Rüschlikon an.

Zusammenarbeit Müllers und Benorz'

Mit ihren gemeinsamen, systematischen Untersuchungen der elektrischen Leitfähigkeit von keramischen Werkstoffen aus Kupferoxiden begannen Bednorz und Müller 1983. Konkret ging es in ihren Forschungen um das Auffinden von Stoffen, die elektrischen Strom bei höheren Temperaturen über dem absoluten Nullpunkt ohne Widerstand leiten als die zu diesem Zeitpunkt bekannten supraleitenden Materialien.

Entdeckung und weiterer Verlauf

1986 entdeckten die beiden Forscher eine Keramik aus Barium, Lanthan, Kupfer und Sauerstoff, in der Strom bei nur noch minus 238 Grad (oder 35 K) verlustfrei fliesst. Hiermit widerlegten sie bisherige Theorien, die besagten, dass sich Supraleitung erst ab minus 250 Grad einstellen würde. Die Entdeckung war auch deshalb bahnbrechend, weil der neue Supraleiter nicht mehr in schwer handhabbarem und teurem flüssigem Helium aufbewahrt werden musste, sondern sich dafür der besser kontrollierbare, flüssige Stickstoff eignete. Das Echo auf die neuen Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter war auch deshalb gross, weil ihre wirtschaftliche und technologisch gewinnbringende Nutzbarmachung insbesondere im Bereich der Energietechnik vielversprechend war. Man nahm an, dass mit einer erfolgreichen Anwendung und Durchsetzung der Supraleitung Material- und Energieressourcen wesentlich geschont werden können.

Während Karl Alexander Müller bis 1994 weiterhin als Professor amtete und danach in den Ruhestand trat, wurde Georg Bednorz 1987 ebenfalls zum IBM Fellow ernannt. Seit März 2008 ist er zudem Mitglied des Hochschulrates der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster.

Bestand

Informationen über Leben und Werk von Karl Alexander Müller und Georg Bednorz bieten die biographischen Dossiers im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich. Dort werden auch die Studentenmatrikel und die Promotionsunterlagen von Karl Alexander Müller sowie die Promotionsunterlagen von Georg Bednorz aufbewahrt.

Weitere Informationen über das Studium von Karl Alexander Müller finden sich zudem im Historischen Schulratsarchiv, dessen Protokolle online abfragbar sind: Schulratsprotokolle Online (Link verlässt diese Seite). Von Karl Alexander Müller befinden sich zudem zwei Briefe an Res Jost im Hochschularchiv.