Marie Curie (1867–1934)

Physicist and chemist

Marie Curie

Wikipedia

Marya Salomea Sklodowska was born on 7 November 1867 to two teachers as the youngest of five children. After attending private schools and a public grammar school in her home town, Sklodowska received the top school leaver's certificate in her class in 1883. She worked as a private tutor from 1884 to 1889. 

Studies in France

As women were not allowed to study in Poland, she moved to Paris in 1891 to join her sister Bronia, whose medical degree she had helped fund. She enrolled at the Sorbonne for a degree in physics, which she completed with top marks in 1893 followed by the second best marks in mathematics in 1894.

Marriage with Pierre Curie

Earlier that year, she had met physicist Pierre Curie, whom she married in 1895. One year later, she passed the examination entitling her to teach at secondary schools for girls – once again, with top marks. In the autumn of 1897, she gave birth to her first daughter, Irène, who would eventually follow in her parents' scientific footsteps.

Discovery of Radioactivity

At the end of that year, she embarked on a PhD under physicist Antoine Henri Becquerel, researching uranium's natural radiation, which Becquerel had discovered in 1896. In 1898, she and her husband stumbled across two previously unknown radiating elements, which the couple named radium and polonium. They referred to the radiation as radioactivity. In the first half of 1903, Marie Curie completed her PhD with her dissertation "Recherches sur les substances radioactives". At the end of 1903, she, her husband and her PhD supervisor Becquerel received the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Teaching at the Sorbonne

The following autumn, the Sorbonne established a chair for general physics for Pierre Curie. Marie was appointed as head of scientific projects at the laboratory. In December 1904, the Curies' second daughter, Ève, was born. When Pierre Curie was killed in a road accident in 1906, his widow was given his teaching duties and made head of the laboratory. Two years later, she was also offered her husband’s vacant chair.   

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

In the meantime, the increased medical use of radium required precise and comparable measured data. In honour of Marie Curie, the introduced unit of mass for radium would be called "curies" until it was eventually replaced by the unit "becquerel" in 1985. On behalf of the International Radium Standard Commission, Marie Curie isolated pure radium, for which she was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1911. Shortly beforehand, however, the French press had blown up her affair with the married physicist Paul Langevin into a public scandal, which not only jeopardised her nomination for the Nobel Prize, but also overshadowed the rest of her life, despite her subsequent scientific successes. 

First World War and illness

During the First World War, aided by her daughter Irène, Marie Curie devised a mobile X-ray station to examine wounded soldiers, even driving one of these vehicles to the front herself. After the war, she continued conducting research with her daughter at the Sorbonne’s Radium Institute until 1927, which she had been running since 1914. From 1922 she also spent twelve years as a committed member of the newly founded League of Nations’ International Commission for Intellectual Cooperation. She died of leukaemia at a sanatorium in Haute-Savoie on 4 July 1934 as the result of decades of working with radioactive substances unprotected.   

Document

Briefausschnitt

Excerpt from the transcript of a letter from Marie Curie to Pierre Weiss (1865–1940), a physics professor at ETH Zurich, offering her opinion of Albert Einstein, 17 November 1911 (ETH-Bibliothek, ETH Zurich University Archives, Hs 304:1101).

Marie Curie had met and been impressed by Albert Einstein at the first International Physics Conference organised by the major Belgian industrialist Ernst Solvay in Brussels from 29 October to 3 November 1911. Einstein had been attracting so much attention in the academic world with his spectacular work on theoretical physics that ETH Zurich was contemplating appointing its former troublesome student as a full professor of physics. To get the ball rolling, Marie Curie, among others, was asked for her opinion of Einstein. The hope was that a favourable assessment from a two-time Nobel Prize-winner would go down well with the Swiss National Council, which had the final say. In the autumn of 1913 (Einstein had actually joined ETH Zurich, but was already on the move again to take up a more convenient position in Berlin), Marie Curie travelled to Switzerland and went hiking in the Engadin with her colleague.      

Holdings

Transcripts of various letters from Marie Curie are kept in author Carl Seelig's Einstein Collection (external link) in the ETH Zurich University Archive. Publications by and on Marie Curie can be located and borrowed via the Knowledge Portal.

Marie Curie (1867–1934)

Physikerin und Chemikerin

Marie Curie

Wikipedia

Am 7. November 1867 wurde einem Lehrerpaar in Warschau Marya Salomea Sklodowska als jüngstes von fünf Kindern geboren. Nach dem Besuch von Privatschulen und öffentlichem Gymnasium an ihrem Geburtsort erhielt Marya Sklodowska 1883 das beste Reifezeugnis ihrer Klasse. Von 1884 bis 1889 arbeitete sie als Hauslehrerin.

Studium in Frankreich

Da in Polen Frauen nicht zum Studium zugelassen waren, folgte sie 1891 ihrer Schwester Bronia, deren Medizinstudium sie mitfinanziert hatte, nach Paris. Hier schrieb sie sich an der Sorbonne für ein Studium der Physik ein, das sie 1893 mit dem besten Lizentiat abschloss. Mitte 1894 folgte das zweitbeste Lizentiat in Mathematik.

Ehe mit Pierre Curie

Anfangs Jahr hatte sie den Physiker Pierre Curie kennengelernt, den sie 1895 heiratete. 1896 bestand sie wiederum als Beste das Examen, das sie zum Unterricht an höheren Mädchenschulen berechtigte. Im Herbst 1897 gebar sie ihre erste Tochter Irène, die dereinst in die wissenschaftlichen Fussstapfen der Eltern treten sollte.

Entdeckung der Radioaktivität

Ende Jahr begann sie als Doktorandin des Physikers Antoine Henri Becquerel, die von diesem 1896 entdeckte natürliche Strahlung von Uran zu erforschen. Dabei stiess sie 1898 gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann auf zwei bisher unbekannte strahlende Elemente, die das Ehepaar Radium und Polonium taufte. Die Strahlung bezeichneten sie als Radioaktivität. In der ersten Jahreshälfte 1903 doktorierte Marie Curie mit ihrer Arbeit "Recherches sur les substances radioactives". Ende 1903 erhielt sie zusammen mit ihrem Mann und ihrem Doktorvater Becquerel den Nobelpreis für Physik.

Lehre an der Sorbonne

Im folgenden Herbst errichtete die Sorbonne für Pierre Curie eine Professur für allgemeine Physik. Marie Curie wurde die Leitung der wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten im Laboratorium zugewiesen. Im Dezember 1904 kam die zweite Tocher Eve zur Welt. Als Pierre Curie 1906 bei einem Verkehrsunfall tödlich verunglückte, wurden der Witwe die Lehrverpflichtungen des Verstorbenen sowie die Leitung des Laboratoriums übertragen. Erst zwei Jahre später bekam sie auch die verwaiste Professur.

Nobelpreis in Chemie

Inzwischen machte der vermehrte medizinische Einsatz von Radium exakte, vergleichbare Messwerte notwendig. Marie Curie zu Ehren sollte die Masseinheit für die Aktivität von Radium ab 1910 "Curie" heissen, bis sie 1985 durch die Einheit "Becquerel" ersetzt wurde. Im Auftrag der Internationalen Radium-Standard-Kommission isolierte Marie Curie reines Radium, wofür sie 1911 mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet wurde. Kurz zuvor war ihre Liebesbeziehung mit dem verheirateten Physiker Paul Langevin von der französischen Presse zum öffentlichen Skandal aufgebauscht worden, was nicht nur die Nominierung für den Nobelpreis gefährdet hatte, sondern ungeachtet künftiger wissenschaftlicher Erfolge Marie Curies weiteres Leben überschattete.

Erster Weltkrieg und Krankheit

Im ersten Weltkrieg entwickelte sie mit ihrer Tochter Irène eine fahrbare Röntgenstation zur Untersuchung verletzter Soldaten und steuerte selber einen dieser Wagen an der Front. Nach dem Krieg forschte sie bis 1927 zusammen mit ihrer Tochter weiter am Radium-Institut der Sorbonne, zu dessen Leiterin sie 1914 ernannt worden war. Ab 1922 engagierte sie sich zudem zwölf Jahre lang als Mitglied in der Internationalen Kommission für Geistige Zusammenarbeit für den neu gegründeten Völkerbund. Als Folge der jahrzehntelangen ungeschützten Arbeit mit radioaktiven Stoffen starb sie am 4. Juli 1934 in einem savoyardischen Sanatorium an Leukämie.

Dokument

Briefausschnitt

Ausschnitt aus einer Abschrift des Briefes von Marie Curie mit der Beurteilung Albert Einsteins an Pierre Weiss (1865–1940), Physikprofessor der ETH, 17. Nov. 1911 (ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, Hs 304:1101).

Marie Curie hatte an der ersten internationalen Physik-Konferenz vom 29. Oktober bis 3. November 1911, die der belgische Grossindustrielle Ernst Solvay in Brüssel veranstaltete, Albert Einstein kennen und schätzen gelernt. Einstein war in der Fachwelt seit wenigen Jahren mit spektakulären Arbeiten zur theoretischen Physik aufgefallen, so dass die ETH erwog, ihren einstmals schlecht geratenen Absolventen als ordentlichen Physikprofessor zu berufen. Zur Vorbereitung des Geschäfts wurde neben anderen auch Marie Curie um ihre Meinung zu Einstein gebeten. Man hoffte, ein günstiges Urteil einer zweifachen Nobelpreisträgerin werde beim Schweizerischen Bundesrat als letzter Entscheidungsinstanz den gewünschten Eindruck nicht verfehlen. Im Herbst 1913 – der mittlerweile an der ETH Zürich installierte Einstein war schon wieder auf dem Sprung in eine noch angenehmere Stellung in Berlin – reiste Marie Curie in die Schweiz und unternahm mit ihrem Kollegen eine Wanderung ins Engadin.

Bestand

Abschriften von verschiedenen Briefen Marie Curies sind in der Einstein-Sammlung (Link verlässt diese Seite) des Schriftstellers Carl Seelig im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich aufbewahrt. Publikationen von und über Marie Curie können über das Wissensportal gefunden und ausgeliehen werden.