Peter Debye (1884–1966)

Professor of physics

Peter Joseph Wilhelm Debye was born in Maastricht (Netherlands) on 24 March 1884. His father, Joannes Wilhelmus Debije, was a foreman in a metalwork factory; his mother Maria Anna Barbara Ruemkens, a cashier and cloakroom attendant at the theatre.

School career

He attended the Bürgerschule (secondary modern) in his home town. As he lacked Latin skills, however, he embarked on a degree at the Institute of Technology in Aachen 30 km away.
In 1905 Debye already obtained his diploma as an electrical engineer at the age of 19 and, the same year, became a technical mechanics assistant.

Promoting and habilitation

One year later, he followed Professor Arnold Sommerfeld to Munich, where he completed a PhD as an assistant for theoretical physics two years later.
In 1910 he qualified as a private lecturer in theoretical physics.

Work as a teacher and scientist

In 1911 he succeeded Albert Einstein as an associate professor of theoretical physics at the University of Zurich. The following year, he also became a full professor in Utrecht and published his first important paper, "Zur Theorie der spezifischen Wärmen" (Debye's T3 law), in 1912. His professorship of theoretical and experimental physics at the University of Göttingen and activities as Director of the Theoretical Department at the Physics Institute there from 1913 were major milestones. During his time in Göttingen, he met the young Swiss scientist Paul Scherrer, with whom he developed the Powder Method (1915) for the determination of crystalline materials with x-radiation, which would become extremely important for science and technology.    

Stay at ETH Zurich

The depressing post-war conditions in Germany prompted him to take up a position as a professor of physics at ETH Zurich in the summer of 1920. The Polytechnic Institute made Debye, who had become quite famous by then, a lifelong professor (external link). Although he only actually taught at ETH Zurich for seven years, his research during this period would have a major impact. As the director of ETH Zurich's Physics Institute, he and his assistant Erich Hückel established the theory of solutions for strong electrolytes in 1922 and penned fundamental papers on electrolytic solutions (Debye-Hückel Theory). Moreover, he managed to set up an actual school for x-ray interference measurement together with Paul Scherrer, whom he had brought from Göttingen, formulate conceptual considerations on the adiabatic demagnetisation of paramagnetic salts (1926) and test his dipole theory experimentally.

Leipzig and Berlin

In the winter of 1927/28 he returned to Germany, where he had been offered a professorship of experimental physics in outstanding research conditions alongside theoretician Werner Heisenberg at the University of Leipzig. When Albert Einstein resigned in 1933, Debye became Director of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute for Physics in Berlin in 1935, which was to be rebuilt under an agreement between the Third Reich and the Rockefeller Foundation in Berlin-Dahlem (now named the Max Planck Institute for Physics). From 1935 to 1940, he taught at the University of Berlin and held a guest professorship in Liège. 

Nobel Prize

Debye eventually received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (external link) in 1936 in recognition of his contribution to the study of molecular structure thanks to his research work on dipole moments, x-ray diffraction and the spectroscopy of gases.

Emigration to the USA

Shortly after the outbreak of World War II, as a Dutchman Debye left the Third Reich, which required him to take German citizenship if he wanted to continue as Director of the institute. He emigrated to the USA with his wife and son and taught as a professor of chemistry at Cornell University in Ithaca (NY) while his daughter remained in Germany. Nevertheless, he acted as editor of the "Physikalische Zeitschrift", which was published in the Third Reich with the collaboration of the Physikalisch-Technische Reichsanstalt, until 1945. His attitude towards Nazi Germany triggered a controversy (external link) between 2006 and 2011.  

Obituary and awards

After he retired in 1952, he continued to work at the laboratory in Ithaca and gave talks all over the world. He died on 2 November 1966.

Peter Debye received numerous honorary doctorates in Europe and the USA. He won major scientific awards and was a member of several scientific academies.

Debye is regarded as one of the greatest and most gifted scientists of the last century. He was also dubbed "Leonardo of the 20th century" because of his interdisciplinary and ground-breaking research. The biggest testament to his polyvalence is the fact that he – a physicist – won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Manuscript

Detail of the first page of a manuscript that is probably the beginning of a larger project by Peter Debye

Undated (ETH-Bibliothek, ETH Zurich University Archives, Hs 586: 1)

Holdings

The ETH Zurich University Archives contain manuscripts of Debye’s research activity, lecture transcripts, letters and a biographical dossier. Moreover, the Max Planck Society (external link) and the University of Göttingen Arhcives (external link) own further documents.

Peter Debye (1884–1966)

Professor für Physik

Peter Joseph Wilhelm Debye wurde am 24. März 1884 in Maastricht (Holland) geboren.

Debyes Vater, Joannes Wilhelmus Debije, war Werkmeister in einer Metallwarenfabrik, die Mutter, Maria Anna Barbara Ruemkens, Kassiererin und Garderobefrau am Theater.

Schulischer Werdegang

In seiner Vaterstadt besuchte er die Bürgerschule. Da ihm Lateinkenntnisse fehlten, begann er sein Studium im 30 km entfernten Aachen an der Technischen Hochschule.
1905 machte Debye bereits 19-jährig sein Diplom als Elektroingenieur und wurde im gleichen Jahr Assistent für technische Mechanik.

Promovierung und Habilitierung

Ein Jahr später folgte er Professor Arnold Sommerfeld nach München und promovierte dort als Assistent für theoretische Physik zwei Jahre später zum Dr. phil.
1910 habilitierte er sich als Privatdozent für theoretische Physik.

Tätigkeiten als Lehrer und Wissenschaftler

Als ausserordentlicher Professor für theoretische Physik trat er 1911 die Nachfolge von Albert Einstein an der Universität Zürich an. Ein Jahr später wurde er auch Ordinarius in Utrecht. Seine erste wichtige Abhandlung "Zur Theorie der spezifischen Wärmen" (Debye's T3-Gesetz) veröffentlichte er 1912. Ein wichtiger Meilenstein war seine Professur für theoretische und experimentelle Physik an der Universität Göttingen und die Tätigkeit als Direktor der theoretischen Abteilung des dort angesiedelten Physikalischen Instituts ab 1913. Hier begegnete er dem jungen Schweizer Paul Scherrer, mit dem er das "Pulver-Verfahren" entwickelt (1915), eine Methode zur Bestimmung kristalliner Stoffe mit Röntgenstrahlen, welche für die Naturwissenschaft und Technik grosse Bedeutung erlangte.

Zeit an der ETH Zürich

Die bedrückenden Nachkriegsverhältnisse in Deutschland bewogen ihn, im Sommer 1920 einen Lehrstuhl als Professor für Physik an der ETH Zürich anzunehmen. Das Polytechnikum berief den inzwischen schon berühmt gewordenen Debye zum Professor auf Lebenszeit (Link verlässt diese Seite). Debye lehrte allerdings nur sieben Jahre an der ETH Zürich. Seine Forschungen in dieser Zeit waren hingegen von grosser Tragweite. Als Direktor des Physikinstitutes der ETH begründete er 1922, zusammen mit seinem Assistenten Erich Hückel, die Theorie der Lösungen starker Elektrolyte und verfasste fundamentale Abhandlungen über elektrolytische Lösungen (Debye-Hückel-Theorie). Ferner konnte er zusammen mit Paul Scherrer, den er aus Göttingen hergeholt hatte, eine eigentliche Schule der Röntgen-Interferenzmessung aufbauen, konzeptionelle Überlegungen über die adiabatische Entmagnetisierung paramagnetischer Salze formulieren (1926) und seine Dipol-Theorie experimentell überprüfen lassen.

Leipzig und Berlin

Im Winter 1927/28 zog es ihn nach Deutschland zurück an die Universität Leipzig, wo ihm an der Seite des Theoretikers Werner Heisenberg unter ausgezeichneten Forschungsbedingungen die Professur für Experimentalphysik angeboten wurde. Nachdem Albert Einstein als Direktor 1933 zurückgetreten war, trat Debye 1935 den Direktorenposten des Kaiser-Wilhelm-Instituts für Physik in Berlin an, das mittels einer Vereinbarung zwischen dem Dritten Reich und der Rockefeller-Stiftung in Berlin-Dahlem neu aufgebaut werden konnte (heute Max-Planck-Institut für Physik). Von 1935 bis 1940 lehrte er an der Universität Berlin und bekleidete daneben eine Gastprofessur in Lüttich.

Verleihung des Nobelpreises

Für seine vielseitigen Leistungen erhielt Debye schliesslich 1936 den Nobelpreis für Chemie (Link verlässt diese Seite) in Anerkennung seines Beitrags zur Kenntnis der Molekularstruktur, dank seinen Forschungsarbeiten über die Dipolmomente, die Röntgendiffraktion und die Spektroskopie von Gasen.

Auswanderung in die USA

Bald nach Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkrieges verliess Debye als gebürtiger Holländer das Dritte Reich, das von ihm die Annahme der deutschen Staatsbürgerschaft verlangte, wollte er weiterhin Direktor des Instituts bleiben. Er emigrierte mit Frau und Sohn in die USA und lehrte fortan als Professor für Chemie an der Cornell University in Ithaca (NY), während seine Tochter in Deutschland blieb. Trotzdem fungierte er bis 1945 als Herausgeber der "Physikalischen Zeitschrift", die im Dritten Reich unter Mitwirkung der Physikalisch-Technischen Reichsanstalt veröffentlicht wurde. Seine Haltung Nazi-Deutschland gegenüber führte von 2006 bis 2011 zu einer Geschichtsdebatte (Link verlässt diese Seite).

Nachruf und Auszeichnungen

Nach seinem Rücktritt 1952 arbeitete er weiter im Laboratorium in Ithaca und hielt Vorträge in der ganzen Welt. Er starb am 2. November 1966.

In Europa und den USA erhielt Peter Debye zahlreiche Ehrendoktorwürden. Er war Träger hoher wissenschaftlicher Auszeichnungen und Mitglied mehrerer wissenschaftlicher Akademien.

Debye gilt als einer der grössten und begabtesten Naturwissenschaftler des vergangenen Jahrhunderts. Er wurde aufgrund seiner fächerübergreifenden und bahnbrechenden Forschungen auch "Leonardo des 20. Jahrhunderts" genannt. Seine Polyvalenz zeigt sich am deutlichsten, als ihm – dem Physiker – der Nobelpreis für Chemie verliehen wurde.

Handschrift

Ausschnitt aus der ersten Seite eines wohl den Anfang einer grösseren Arbeit bildenden Manuskripts von Peter Debye

Ohne Datum (ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, Hs 586: 1)

Bestand

Im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich befinden sich Manuskripte von Debyes Forschungstätigkeit, Vorlesungsnachschriften, Korrespondenzen und ein biographisches Dossier. Ferner besitzen die Max Planck-Gesellschaft (Link verlässt diese Seite) und das Archiv der Universität Göttingen (Link verlässt diese Seite) weitere Dokumente.