Vladimir Prelog (1906–1998)

Professor of organic chemistry at ETH Zurich

Vladimir Prelog was born in Sarajevo on 23 July 1906. He studied at the Czech Technical University in Prague from 1924 to 1929, where he went on to teach until 1935. From 1935 to 1941 he worked at the Technical Faculty in Zagreb, where he became an associate professor in 1940.

Escape to Switzerland

After the German invasion, he left occupied Yugoslavia in 1941 and accepted a position at ETH Zurich's Laboratory of Organic Chemistry under Nobel-Prize winner Leopold Ruzicka. Initially registered as auditor, he became a senior lecturer there in 1942, an adjunct professor in 1945, an associate professor in 1947 and a full professor of organic chemistry in 1950.

Succession of Ruzicka

In 1957 he succeeded Leopold Ruzicka as head of the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry. A position he held until 1965. At which point he introduced a job sharing scheme for the position of head of institute.

In his scientific work, Prelog primarily focused on the structural clarification and synthesis of natural substances. He especially devoted his research to nitrogenous, vegetal substances (alkaloids), antibiotics and ferrous compounds from microorganisms.

Stereochemical problems

He spent years studying stereochemical problems. He was particularly interested in the precise spatial structure and behaviour of organic compounds. He especially received recognition in this field for his research on "middle rings", namely ring compounds that contain 8 to 14 carbon atoms. In acyloin synthesis, Prelog found a method for producing such compounds, which had barely been accessible until then. Moreover, he realised that the particular properties of these compounds could only be researched using an extension of the stereochemical approach and thus became a co-founder of conformation analysis, thereby closing a research gap between classical rings (up to 6 carbon atoms) and the large ring systems Ruzicka had been studying (over 16 carbon atoms).   

The Cahn Ingold Prelog Convention

Vladimir Prelog also succeeded in producing pioneering studies on the stereochemical course of enzymatic reactions. In light of his ongoing interest in stereochemical issues, he examined the theoretical bases of stereochemistry intensively. For instance, he teamed up with Robert Sidney Cahn and Christopher Kelk Ingold to develop the Cahn Ingold Prelog Convention, which is used to specify the sense of chirality in molecules clearly. The sequence rule method originally developed to classify the sense of chirality in organic molecules formed the basis for the creation of a separate chemical topology.

Research about medicaments and titels

Prelog saw basic scientific research as a socially relevant activity – especially if it helped to produce medication for the treatment of tuberculosis or leprosy, for instance. The development of effective antibiotics was also based on his work.

Vladimir Prelog, who self-mockingly looked back on "a chemistry degree that lasted a total of 132 semesters", received numerous honorary doctorates, guest lectureships and awards throughout his career as a scientist. In 1975 he won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry together with John Warcup Cornforth for his work in the field of the stereochemistry of organic molecules and reactions.  

Prelog Medal

Although he retired in 1976, he by no means turned his back on research. He remained registered at ETH Zurich as auditor and continued his research projects with the aid of postdocs and from his own pocket. On 22 September 1986 a science symposium was held in the Maximum Auditorium at ETH Zurich to mark Prelog's eightieth birthday. It was against this backdrop that the first "Prelog Lecture" was held and the first gold "Prelog Medal" presented. 

Vladimir Prelog died in Zurich on 7 January 1998.

Manuscript

Prelogs Handschrift
The first handwritten page of a lab book from 1935 to 1936, penned by Vladimir Prelog during his time as a 
professor of organic chemistry at the University of Zagreb's Technical Faculty.
(ETH-Bibliothek, University Archives, Hs 1152: 16. Logs 1935-1936, Zagreb, first written page)

Holdings

Information on Prelog's life and work is available in the biographical dossier in the ETH Zurich University Archives, which also contain Prelog's personal papers – organised into "Honorary Certificates and Publication Indexes (external link)" and "Early Works: Manuscripts, Bibliography, Notes (external link)". The corresponding personal paper indexes can be viewed online.

A large stock of official documents by and addressed to Prelog from his time as a member of ETH Zurich is provided by the Historical School Board Archive (minutes, files and missives from the period 1854 to 1968), the minutes from 1854 to 1956 being accessible online: Schulratsprotokolle Online (external link). The medal collection in the ETH Zurich University Archives also contains around 100 medals of honour and the Image Archive owns portraits of Prelog.

Vladimir Prelog (1906–1998)

Professor für organische Chemie an der ETH Zürich

Vladimir Prelog wurde am 23. Juli 1906 in Sarajevo geboren. Er studierte von 1924 bis 1929 an der Technischen Hochschule in Prag, wo er danach bis 1935 lehrte. Von 1935 bis 1941 arbeitete er an der Technischen Hochschule in Zagreb, wo er 1940 ausserordentlicher Professor wurde.

Flucht in die Schweiz

Nach dem Einmarsch der deutschen Armee verliess er 1941 das besetzte Jugoslawien und folgte einem Ruf des Nobelpreisträgers Leopold Ruzicka an das Laboratorium für organische Chemie der ETH Zürich. Zunächst als Fachhörer eingeschrieben, wurde er dort 1942 Privatdozent, 1945 Titularprofessor, 1947 ausserordentlicher und 1950 ordentlicher Professor für organische Chemie.

Nachfolge Ruzickas

1957 übernahm er als Nachfolger Leopold Ruzickas die Leitung des Laboratoriums für organische Chemie, dem er bis 1965 vorstand. Danach führte er die gemeinschaftliche Institutsleitung ein.

In seiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit befasste sich Vladimir Prelog vorwiegend mit der Strukturaufklärung und Synthese von Naturstoffen. Hierbei widmete er seine Forschungen vor allem stickstoffhaltigen, pflanzlichen Wirkstoffen (Alkaloiden), Antibiotika und eisenhaltigen Verbindungen aus Mikroorganismen.

Stereochemische Probleme

Viele Jahre befasste er sich mit stereochemischen Problemen. Die Untersuchung des genauen räumlichen Aufbaus und Verhaltens von organischen Verbindungen erregte seine besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Anerkennung erwarb er sich in diesem Feld insbesondere mit der Erforschung von "mittleren Ringen", das heisst Ringverbindungen, welche 8 bis 14 Kohlenstoffatome enthalten. Prelog fand mit der Acyloinsynthese eine Herstellungsmethode für solche vorher kaum zugängliche Verbindungen. Zudem erfasste er, dass die besonderen Eigenschaften dieser Verbindungen nur mittels einer Erweiterung der stereochemischen Betrachtungsweise erforschbar waren und wurde so zu einem Mitbegründer der Konformationsanalyse. Damit schloss er eine Forschungslücke zwischen den klassischen Ringen (bis 6 C-Atome) und den von Ruzicka untersuchten grossen Ringsystemen (über 16 C-Atome).

Kahn-Ingold-Prelog-Konvention

Vladimir Prelog gelangen darüber hinaus wegweisende Untersuchungen über den stereochemischen Verlauf enzymatischer Reaktionen. Seine anhaltende Auseinandersetzung mit stereochemischen Fragestellungen führte dazu, dass er sich intensiv mit den theoretischen Grundlagen der Stereochemie befasste. So erarbeitete er gemeinsam mit Robert Sidney Cahn und Christopher Kelk Ingold die Cahn-Ingold-Prelog-Konvention. Mit ihrer Hilfe kann der Chiralitätssinn von Molekülen eindeutig bezeichnet werden. Die ursprünglich zur Klassifizierung des Chiralitätssinnes organischer Moleküle entwickelten Sequenzregelverfahren bildeten die Grundlage für die Schaffung einer eigentlichen chemischen Topologie.

Forschung zu Medikamenten und Titel

In der wissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung sah Prelog eine gesellschaftlich relevante Tätigkeit. Dies vor allem, wenn sie zur Entwicklung von Medikamenten, etwa zur Bekämpfung von Tuberkulose oder Lepra, beitrug. Auf Prelogs Arbeiten beruhte auch die Entwicklung wirksamer Antibiotika.

Vladimir Prelog, der es rückblickend selbstironisch auf insgesamt 132 Semester Chemiestudium brachte, wurde im Rahmen seiner wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn mit zahlreichen Ehrendoktoraten, Gastvorlesungen und Auszeichnungen gewürdigt. 1975 erhielt er gemeinsam mit John Warcup Cornforth für seine Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Stereochemie organischer Moleküle und Reaktionen den Nobelpreis für Chemie zugesprochen.

Prelog-Medaille

1976 trat er in den Ruhestand, zog sich aber keineswegs aus der Forschung zurück. So blieb er an der ETH Zürich als Fachhörer eingeschrieben und verfolgte seine Forschungsprojekte mit Hilfe von Postdoktoranden und aus eigenen Mitteln weiter. Am 22. September 1986 fand anlässlich des 80. Geburtstages von Vladimir Prelog ein wissenschaftliches Symposium im Auditorium Maximum der ETH Zürich statt. In diesem Rahmen wurde die erste "Prelog-Vorlesung" gehalten und erstmals die goldene "Prelog-Medaille" verliehen.

Vladimir Prelog verstarb am 7. Januar 1998 in Zürich.

Handschrift

Prelogs Handschrift

Erste beschriebene Seite eines handschriftlich geführten Laborjournals von Vladimir Prelog aus den Jahren 1935 bis 1936, verfasst während seiner Zeit als Professor für Organische Chemie an der Technischen Fakultät der Universität Zagreb.
(ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv, Hs 1152: 16. Protokoll 1935-1936, Zagreb, erste beschriebene Seite)

Bestand

Informationen über Prelogs Leben und Werk bietet das Biographische Dossier im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich. Dort befindet sich auch der Nachlass von Prelog – aufgeteilt in "Ehrenurkunden und Publikationsverzeichnisse (Link verlässt diese Seite)" und "Frühe Arbeiten: Manuskripte, Bibliographie, Kommentar (Link verlässt diese Seite)". Die entsprechenden Nachlassverzeichnisse können online eingesehen werden.

Ein grosser Fundus an amtlichen Dokumenten von und zu Prelog aus seiner Zeit als Angestellter der ETH Zürich bietet das Historische Schulratsarchiv (Protokolle, Akten und Missiven aus der Zeit von 1854 bis 1968), dessen Protokolle online abfragbar sind: Schulratsprotokolle Online (Link verlässt diese Seite). Ebenfalls im Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich, in der Sammlung der Medaillen, befinden sich rund 100 Ehrenmedaillen. Porträts von Prelog besitzt das Bildarchiv.