Astronomy and solar research – Rudolf Wolf and his legacy

Rudolf Wolf (1816 to 1893) was a classical naturalist in the nineteenth century. Born 200 years ago, his broad academic interests, key discoveries, interdisciplinary exchange and diverse publishing and collecting activities still set him apart to this day. 

Astronomer and founder of the Eidgenössische Sternwarte

Wolf celebrated his greatest academic successes as an astronomer. In 1852, he joined other scientists in describing the discovery of the connection between fluctuations of the earth's magnetic field and sunspot activity, demonstrating that a sunspot cycle lasts at least eleven years. Wolf's international acclaim as an astronomer led to his appointment at the newly founded Polytechnic School (now ETH Zurich) in Zurich in 1855, where the architect Gottfried Semper constructed the Eidgenössische Sternwarte according to Wolf's specifications. It served Wolf and his successors as a basis for further solar research and observations.   

First Director at ETH-Bibliothek

As a secondary function, the professor of astronomy was also elected as the Polytechnic School's first librarian – an ideal appointment: not only did Wolf have broad mathematical and scientific expertise; he was also interested in cultural-scientific issues and enjoyed excellent contacts with Switzerland’s naturalist societies, which supported the establishment of the library by donating books. Wolf presented the first printed catalogue (external link) to coincide with the inauguration of the library in January 1856.

Wolf's legacy

Today, rare astronomical works and other purchases or acquisitions from the Wolf era rank among ETH-Bibliothek's most highly sought-after and valuable old holdings. However, Wolf's legacy goes further: today, ETH-Bibliothek safeguards and renders accessible the Collection of Astronomical Instruments, which is also based on Wolf's collecting activities. This also goes for the hundred-year-old series of sunspot measurements that began with Wolf’s systematic solar observations. ETH-Bibliothek makes many of these historically valuable documents and objects accessible online.

Materials on Wolf, astronomy and solar research

Rare Books

Cometa anno 1664 et 1665 observatus à Joh Hevelio

Johannes Hevelii Prodromus Cometicus, 1666, Fig. A [S. 10]
ETH-Bibliothek, Rare Books, Rar 9472 fol., http://dx.doi.org/10.3931/e-rara-332

  • Works from the collection of Rudolf Wolf
  • Wolf's owner's marks (book plates, stamps, covers)
  • Search in e-rara.ch (external link)

Image Archive

Ptolemaic map, 1598

ETH-Bibliothek, Image Archive, Ans_02775-010-PL, http://doi.org/10.3932/ethz-a-000016090

ETH Zurich University Archives

Sunspot drawing no. 10286, 1927

Sketch of spots and torch areas for the investigation of solar activity on 11.02.1927, by William Otto Brunner. ETH-Bibliothek, ETH Zurich University Archives, Hs 1304.2:10323.

Collection of Astronomical Instruments

Graphometer, Michael Butterfield, approx. 1700

ETH-Bibliothek, Collection of Astronomical Instruments, KGS_333-02 (external link)

Literature

Literature by and about Rudolf Wolf in the Swiss journals online (external link) in the Knowledge Portal or in E-Periodica (external link).

Astronomie und Sonnenforschung – Rudolf Wolf und sein Erbe

Rudolf Wolf (1816 bis 1893) war ein klassischer Naturforscher des 19. Jahrhunderts. Vor 200 Jahren geboren, zeichnen ihn sein breites wissenschaftliches Interesse, bedeutende Entdeckungen, fachüberschreitender Austausch sowie eine vielfältige Publikations- und Sammlungstätigkeit bis heute aus.

Astronom und Gründer der Eidgenössischen Sternwarte

Seine grössten wissenschaftlichen Erfolge feierte Rudolf Wolf als Astronom. 1852 beschrieb er – zeitgleich mit anderen – die Entdeckung des Zusammenhangs zwischen den Schwankungen des Magnetfelds der Erde und der Sonnenfleckenaktivität. Ihm gelang der Nachweis, dass ein Sonnenfleckenzyklus gut 11 Jahre dauert. Wolfs internationaler Ruhm als Astronom verschaffte ihm 1855 den Ruf ans neu gegründete Polytechnikum (heute ETH) in Zürich. Dort errichtete der Architekt Gottfried Semper nach Wolfs Vorgaben die Eidgenössische Sternwarte. Sie diente Wolf und seinen Nachfolgern als Basis für die weitere Erforschung und Beobachtung der Sonne.

Erster Direktor der ETH-Bibliothek

Im Nebenamt wurde der Astronomieprofessor zum ersten Bibliothekar des Polytechnikums gewählt. Eine Idealbesetzung: Wolf verfügte nicht nur über ein breites mathematisch-naturwissenschaftliches Fachwissen, sondern er interessierte sich auch für kulturwissenschaftliche Fragen und verfügte über ausgezeichnete Kontakte zu den naturforschenden Gesellschaften der Schweiz. Diese unterstützten den Aufbau der neuen Bibliothek mit Bücherspenden. Pünktlich zur Eröffnung der Bibliothek im Januar 1856 legte Wolf den ersten gedruckten Katalog (Link verlässt diese Seite) vor.

Das Erbe Wolfs

Heute gehören etwa seltene astronomische Werke und andere Ankäufe bzw. Übernahmen aus der Ära Wolf zu den gesuchtesten und wertvollsten Altbeständen der ETH-Bibliothek. Das Erbe Wolfs geht aber weit darüber hinaus: Die Lehrsammlung Sternwarte mit ihren wissenschaftlichen Instrumenten, die ebenfalls auf der Sammlungstätigkeit Wolfs gründet, wird heute von der ETH-Bibliothek aufbewahrt und zugänglich gemacht. Das gilt u. a. auch für die hundertjährige Messreihe der Sonnenflecken, die auf Wolfs systematische Sonnenbeobachtung zurückgeht. Vieler dieser historisch wertvollen Dokumente und Objekte macht die ETH-Bibliothek online zugänglich.

Materalien zu Wolf, Astronomie und Sonnenforschung

Alte und Seltene Drucke

Cometa anno 1664 et 1665 observatus à Joh Hevelio

Johannes Hevelii Prodromus Cometicus, 1666, Fig. A [S. 10]
ETH-Bibliothek, Alte und Seltene Drucke, Rar 9472 fol., http://dx.doi.org/10.3931/e-rara-332

Bildarchiv

Ptolemeisch General Tafel, 1598

ETH-Bibliothek, Bildarchiv, Ans_02775-010-PL, http://doi.org/10.3932/ethz-a-000016090

Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich

Sonnenfleckenzeichnung Nr. 10286, 1927

Zeichnung von Flecken und Fackelflächen zur Ermittlung der Sonnenaktivität am 11. Februar 1927, erstellt von William Otto Brunner. ETH-Bibliothek, Hochschularchiv, Hs 1304.2:10323.

Sammlung Sternwarte

Graphometer, Michael Butterfield, ca. 1700

ETH-Bibliothek, Sammlung Sternwarte, KGS_333-02

Literatur