E-Pics_TMA

Completed project

Aim of the project

  • Improvement of the photographic holdings' accessibility via re-indexing and digitization
  • Conservation and protection of the original holdings via integral digitization and repackaging in containers suitable for archiving
  • Initial clarification of the rights to the photographs

Description of the project

The Thomas Mann Archive owns around 7,000 photo prints in a wide variety of formats depicting the life and work of Thomas Mann, as well as his personal sphere. The photographs, which were taken by more than 500 photographers and date from the 1840s to the 1990s, are extremely important to understand the "media author" Thomas Mann. Within the scope of the project, the photographic material is re-taken at individual image level, the contents described, digitized, repacked in proper containers and archived.

Synergies and context

The project uses the image information system Canto Cumulus, which ETH-Bibliothek has already deployed to index and manage comparable photographic holdings (including the Max Frisch Archive) and present them online. The digitization is performed at ETH-Bibliothek's DigiCenter.

Timeframe, sequence

TimeframeSequence
July 2015 to April 2016Project duration
2017After the project's completion, the groundwork to upload a selection of photos into a catalogue on E-Pics will commence. In particular, the usage rights for the photographs are to be clarified. The catalogue is scheduled to go online in the course of 2017.

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations E-Pics_TMA

Contact

Katrin Keller
Project coordination
+41 44 633 01 36
katrin.keller@library.ethz.ch

Katrin Keller

E-Pics_TMA

Abgeschlossenes Projekt

Ziel des Projektes

  • Verbesserung der Zugänglichkeit des Fotobestandes durch Neuerschliessung und Digitalisierung
  • Schonung und Sicherung der Originalbestände durch integrale Digitalisierung sowie durch Umverpackung in archivgerechte Behälter
  • Erste Rechteabklärungen zu den Fotografen

Beschreibung des Projektes

Das Thomas-Mann-Archiv besitzt rund 7000 Fotoabzüge unterschiedlichsten Formats, auf denen Leben und Wirken Thomas Manns sowie sein persönliches Umfeld abgebildet sind. Die Aufnahmen stammen von über 500 Fotografen und datieren aus der Zeit der 1840er bis 1990er Jahre. Für das Verständnis des "Medienautors" Thomas Mann sind die Fotografien von grosser Bedeutung. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden die fotografischen Vorlagen auf Stufe Einzelbild neu erfasst, inhaltlich beschrieben, digitalisiert, in sachgerechte Behälter neu verpackt und archiviert.

Synergien und Kontext

Das Projekt nutzt das von der ETH-Bibliothek eingesetzte Bildinformationssystem Canto Cumulus, mit dem bereits vergleichbare Fotobestände (unter anderem Max Frisch-Archiv) erschlossen, verwaltet und online präsentiert werden. Die Digitalisierung erfolgt im DigiCenter der ETH-Bibliothek.

Zeitrahmen, Ablauf

ZeitrahmenAblauf
Juli 2015 bis April 2016Projektlaufzeit
2017Nach Projektende werden Vorarbeiten zur Aufschaltung einer Bildauswahl in einem Katalog in E-Pics aufgenommen. Insbesondere werden die Nutzungsrechte der Fotografien abgeklärt. Der Katalog soll im Lauf des Jahres 2017 aufgeschaltet werden.

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen E-Pics_TMA

Kontakt

Katrin Keller
Projektleitung
+41 44 633 01 36
katrin.keller@library.ethz.ch

Katrin Keller