IDEfiX

Aim of the project

Cataloguing, digitization and scientific indexing of wood patterns and their microscopic specimens (thin sections) from the xylotheque.

Description of the project

ETH Zurich's xylotheque is pursuing four primary goals with this project:

  1. Revision of the collection's indexing by digitizing and conflating the information from various analogue search aids for the existing wood pattern information based on Darwin Core Simple (external link)
  2. Digitization of microscopic wood specimens in the collection with different enlargements (10 to 20 images per section of 400 species) to visualise a large number of the anatomical characteristics listed in identification keys in a vivid and generally accessible way. 
  3. Compilation of explanatory notes for each wood species with an emphasis on linking the wood collection directly to the chair's teaching and research activities and duties
  4. Creation of a freely accessible online catalogue in E-Pics, which renders the digitization performed under the first three points visible in a high-profile form. Also rendering the metadata accessible on ETH-Bibliothek's Knowledge Portal.

Synergies and context

As part of their tuition, the students (especially in the constructional engineering and environmental science degree programmes) are taught about the structure and properties of wood and wood-based materials, as well as processing wood products and their application. Macroscopic wood samples are used by way of illustration in lectures and microscopic identification exercises are conducted in a Master's course. The digitization of the thin sections in the xylotheque and their provision on the internet also enables characteristics that are specific to wood species and particularly important for the aforementioned degree courses to be recorded. The collection can thus be integrated directly in the lecture material and within the scope of e-learning programmes.

TimeframeSequence
July 2016 to September 2019:Project duration

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations IDEfiX

Contact

Prof. Dr. Ingo Burgert
Project coordination
+41 44 633 77 73
iburgert@ethz.ch

IDEfiX

Ziel des Projektes

Inventarisierung, Digitalisierung und wissenschaftliche Erschliessung von Holzmustern und deren mikroskopischen Präparaten (Dünnschnitte) aus der Xylothek.

Beschreibung des Projektes

Die Xylothek der ETH Zürich verfolgt mit diesem Projekt vornehmlich vier Ziele:

  1. Überarbeitung der Erschliessung der Sammlung mittels Digitalisierung und Zusammenführung der Informationen aus verschiedenen analogen Findmitteln der bestehenden Holzmusterinformationen auf Basis von Darwin Core Simple (Link verlässt diese Seite)
  2. Digitalisierung der mikroskopischen Schnittpräparate von Sammlungshölzern mit unterschiedlichen Vergrösserungen (10 bis 20 Aufnahmen pro Schnitt von 400 Arten), um so eine Vielzahl der in Bestimmungsschlüsseln aufgeführten anatomischen Merkmale in einer anschaulichen und gut nachvollziehbaren Form zu visualisieren und allgemein zugänglich zu machen.
  3. Erstellung eines Begleittextes pro Holzart mit Schwerpunkt auf einer direkten Verknüpfung der Holzsammlung mit Aktivitäten und Aufgaben des Lehrstuhls in Lehre und Forschung
  4. Erstellung eines online frei zugänglichen Katalogs in E-Pics, welcher die unter den ersten drei Punkten erarbeitete Digitalisierung in öffentlichkeitswirksamer Form sichtbar macht. Des Weiteren Zugänglichmachen der Metadaten im Wissensportal der ETH-Bibliothek.

Synergien und Kontext

Im Rahmen der Lehre werden den Studierenden (insbesondere in den Studiengängen Bauingenieurwesen und Umweltwissenschaften) Kenntnisse über Struktur und Eigenschaften von Holz und Holzwerkstoffen sowie über Verarbeitungsprozesse zu Holzprodukten und deren Anwendung vermittelt. Dabei werden zur Veranschaulichung makroskopische Holzproben in Vorlesungen eingesetzt und in einem Masterkurs auch mikroskopische Bestimmungsübungen durchgeführt. Mit der Digitalisierung der Dünnschnitte der Xylothek und deren Bereitstellung im Internet ergibt sich die Möglichkeit, holzartspezifische Merkmale mit zu erfassen. Diese sind für die genannten Studiengänge von besonderer Bedeutung. Die Sammlung lässt sich so direkt in die Stoffvermittlung der Vorlesungen und im Rahmen von E-Learning-Angeboten integrieren.

ZeitrahmenAblauf
Juli 2016 bis September 2019:Projektlaufzeit

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen IDEfiX

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Ingo Burgert
Projektleitung
+41 44 633 77 73
iburgert@ethz.ch