Open data: re-use of bibliographical metadata

Objective

Besides its existing services, ETH-Bibliothek would like to generate added value for society by rendering publicly funded infrastructures and information freely accessible (return on investment).

By opening up its bibliographical metadata, ETH-Bibliothek:

  • provides improved access to the collections
  • makes a contribution towards the information infrastructure worldwide
  • makes a contribution towards the development and refinement of innovative products worldwide

Context

Many libraries all over the world have already taken this step. By opening up its bibliographical metadata and other selected data (e.g. digital copies), ETH-Bibliothek is now also helping to pave the way for networking its own metadata with data from other areas for Linked Open Data and Semantic Web.

The refinement of human knowledge, which libraries help shape, will rely increasingly on availability that is as free as possible, appropriate labelling and data networking in future. ETH-Bibliothek would like to do its bit in this respect while benefiting from data from other facilities. 

Description

ETH-Bibliothek will begin by making its metadata available as so-called "bulk data", i.e. data packages. The digital copies are provided via interfaces and the respective applications. Based on this data, new web applications can be developed or the data can be re-used in research, for instance. Data-related issues might include publication behaviour, the most important publication locations or different publication forms. However, many other application possibilities are conceivable. There is an express desire for the data also to be used by new customer groups (e.g. related to citizen science, the maker scene, the creative scene, hackathons etc.)

The more libraries render their data freely accessible, the greater the benefit of the metadata and the more innovative its possible re-use becomes.

Cooperative partners

Various cooperative partners depending on the data pool

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations Open data: re-use of bibliographical metadata

Contact

Dr. Stefan Wiederkehr
Head of Collections and Archives
+41 44 632 21 83
stefan.wiederkehr@library.ethz.ch

Stefan Wiederkehr

Open Data: Nachnutzung bibliographischer Metadaten

Ziel

Die ETH-Bibliothek möchte neben den bereits bestehenden Dienstleistungen einen zusätzlichen Mehrwert für die Gesellschaft generieren, indem sie öffentlich finanzierte Infrastrukturen und Informationen frei nachnutzbar macht (return on investment).

Mit der Öffnung ihrer bibliographischen Metadaten leistet die ETH-Bibliothek unter anderem

  • einen verbesserten Zugang zu den Sammlungen
  • einen Beitrag zur Informationsinfrastruktur weltweit
  • einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung und Weiterentwicklung innovativer Produkte weltweit

Kontext

Viele Bibliotheken weltweit sind diesen Schritt bereits gegangen. Mit der Öffnung ihrer bibliographischen Metadaten sowie anderer ausgewählter Daten (z.B. Digitalisate) trägt die ETH-Bibliothek nun ebenfalls dazu bei, die Grundlage für die Vernetzung der eigenen Metadaten mit Daten aus anderen Bereichen für Linked Open Data und Semantic Web zu schaffen.

Die Weiterentwicklung des menschlichen Wissens, die Bibliotheken mitgestalten, wird zukünftig immer mehr auf die möglichst freie Verfügbarkeit, die entsprechende Kennzeichnung und die Vernetzung von Daten angewiesen sein. Hierzu möchte die ETH-Bibliothek ihren Beitrag leisten und gleichzeitig auch von Daten anderer Einrichtungen profitieren.

Beschreibung

Die ETH-Bibliothek wird ihre Metadaten zunächst als sogenannte "Bulk Data", also als Datenpakete zur Verfügung stellen. Die Digitalisate werden über Schnittstellen bzw. über die jeweiligen Anwendungen zur Verfügung gestellt. Anhand dieser Daten können z.B. neue Webanwendungen entstehen, oder die Daten können in der Forschung nachgenutzt werden. Fragestellungen, die an die Daten gerichtet werden, könnten sich z.B. auf das Publikationsverhalten, die bedeutendsten Publikationsorte oder verschiedene Publikationsformen beziehen. Darüber hinaus lassen sich viele weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten denken. Es ist ausdrücklich erwünscht, dass die Daten auch von neuen Kundengruppen (z.B. im Zusammenhang von Citizen Science, Maker-Szene, Kreativszene, Hackathons usw.) genutzt werden.

Je mehr Bibliotheken ihre Daten zur freien Verfügung stellen, umso grösser ist der Nutzen der Metadaten und umso innovativere Nachnutzungen sind möglich.

Kooperationspartner

Verschiedene Kooperationspartner, je nach Datenbestand

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen Open Data: Nachnutzung bibliographischer Metadaten

Kontakt

Dr. Stefan Wiederkehr
Leitung Sammlungen und Archive
+41 44 632 21 83
stefan.wiederkehr@library.ethz.ch

Stefan Wiederkehr