Pilot project on long-term preservation

Completed project

In several departments at the ETH Zurich digital measuring data (primary data) are collected and electronic evaluations (secondary data) generated. The ETH-Bibliothek also provides access to numerous electronic media such as electronic journals, data bases and e-books. The long-lasting availability of the information is traditionally secured by the Library. Presently, ETH Zurich (external link) including the ETH-Bibliothek lack a comprehensive program for the long-term archiving of primary and secondary digital data.

In a first phase (September 2006 until May 2007) of the pilot project the feasibility and trustworthiness of digital data at the ETH Zurich were examined and a knowledge base for future decisions was created.

In the second phase (June 2007 until Summer 2009), two pilot software programs will be installed and compaired. The main goal of the second phase is to define the requirements for a digital long-term archiving system at the ETH Zurich and to determine the organizational as well as technical structures necessary for its implementation. The archiving system will be based on the OAIS-model (external link) (Reference Model for open Archival Information System), which is ISO standard 14721 for the referencing of all kinds of digital data within an archive. The OAIS model consists of different modules embedded within a larger organizational and structural project.

The possible transfer and implementation of resulting knowledge to other Swiss universities is an importance aspect of the project. Beyond that, cooperations on the national and international level with other digital long-term archiving projects exist, these include E-Helvetica (external link), kopal (external link), nestor (external link), KOSTPROBE (external link). This will allow the experiences made and the knowledge gained to be shared when applicable.

Cooperating partners

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations Pilot project on long-term preservation

Contact

Pascalia Boutsiouci
Project coordination
+41 44 632 84 26
pascalia.boutsiouci@library.ethz.ch

Pilotprojekt Langzeitarchivierung

Abgeschlossenes Projekt

An der ETH Zürich werden an verschiedenen Departementen digitale Messdaten (Primärdaten) erhoben und elektronische Auswertungen (Sekundärdaten) erstellt. Auch die ETH-Bibliothek verfügt über zahlreiche elektronische Medien, wie zum Beispiel elektronische Zeitschriften, Datenbanken, E-Books. Traditionell bekleidet sie die Aufgabe, die Bereitstellung und die Verfügbarkeit dieser Informationen dauerhaft zu sichern. Ein umfassender Ansatz für die langfristige Archivierung von digitalen Primär- und Sekundärdaten fehlte jedoch bisher sowohl an der ETH Zürich (Link verlässt diese Seite) als auch an der ETH-Bibliothek.

In einer ersten Phase (September 2006 bis Mai 2007) sind im Pilotprojekt die Machbarkeit einer vertrauenswürdigen digitalen Langzeitarchivierung von Primär- und Sekundärdaten für die ETH Zürich geprüft und Entscheidungsgrundlagen für das weitere Vorgehen geschaffen worden.

In der zweiten Phase (Juni 2007 bis Sommer 2009) findet die Pilotinstallation statt, die vergleichend mit zwei Software-Produkten ausgeführt wird. Ziel der Pilotinstallation ist es, die Anforderungen an ein digitales Langzeitarchivierungssystem für die ETH Zürich zu definieren und gegebenenfalls Tests wichtiger organisatorischer sowie technischer Abläufe durchzuführen. Das Vorgehen richtet sich nach dem OAIS-Modell (Link verlässt diese Seite) (Reference Model for Open Archival Information Systems), das als ISO-Standard 14721 als Referenzmodell für alle Arten von digitalen Archivierungssystemen gilt. Die einzelnen Module des OAIS-Modells sind in die Projektorganisation und in den Strukturplan eingebettet.

Die Übertragbarkeit und Nachnutzung der Ergebnisse für weitere Schweizer Hochschulen ist ein ebenfalls nicht zu vernachlässigender Aspekt. Darüber hinaus bestehen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene Kooperationen mit anderen Projekten, die sich mit digitaler Langzeitarchivierung befassen, wie z.B. E-Helvetica (Link verlässt diese Seite), kopal (Link verlässt diese Seite), nestor (Link verlässt diese Seite), KOSTPROBE (Link verlässt diese Seite), so dass Erfahrungen und Kompetenzen genutzt und je nach Möglichkeit angewandt werden können.

Kooperationspartner

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen Pilotprojekt Langzeitarchivierung

Kontakt

Pascalia Boutsiouci
Projektleiterin
+41 44 632 84 26
pascalia.boutsiouci@library.ethz.ch

Weiterführende Links