Single sign-on

Completed project

Aim of the project

The aim of the Single Sign-On project is to simplify the registration process for the use of library resources.

Description of the project

In this context, Single Sign-On (SSO) means the ability to use any library service that requires registration via a login. Sometimes, library customers who are not members of a university require several logins to be able to access a library’s complete services. Members of universities usually have one login for the university’s services and another for the library services. 

The first step of the project (SSO 1) was to introduce Single Sign-On for members of ETH Zurich by combining the university and library logins. They have been able to use the library services with their nethz login ever since. ETH Library’s IT services and the NEBIS Network Office have transformed SSO 1 into a service that can now be used by other interested universities and their NEBIS libraries.  

Subsequently, the project team worked on the second part of Single Sign-On (SSO 2) and introduced a new login that allows customers who are not members of a university to use the library’s complete services in future. The new login, libraries.ch, is to be available on a trial basis for two of ETH Library’s services, E-Lending and the public workstations. fter a first period of operation and the evaluation of the experiences, interested libraries of the NEBIS network can connect their services with the libraries.ch-login. As a result, customers who are not members of a university should no longer need any additional logins or new registrations, especially for electronic library services.

Synergies and context

The Knowledge Portal, the E-Lending Project and access to ETH Library’s public workstations were instrumental in this project. Modern authentication and authorisation solutions serve as a central basis for the aforementioned matters.

Timeframe, sequence

December 2015:Completion of the development of the identity provider (IDP) and process design
January 2016:Introduction of the new login service libraries.ch Version 1.0
Spring 2016:Evaluation of experiences, planning improvements
Summer 2016:Launch of Version 1.1, adoption of the requirements of interested NEBIS libraries
Autumn 2016:Scheduled launch of Version 1.2
Autumn 2017:End of project

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations Single sign-on

Contact

Gabriella Padovan
Project coordination
+41 44 632 39 94
gabriella.padovan@library.ethz.ch

Gabriella Padovan

Single Sign-On

Ziel des Projektes

Das Projekt Single Sign-On hat zum Ziel, die Anmeldeverfahren zur Nutzung von Bibliotheksressourcen zu vereinfachen.

Beschreibung des Projektes

Single Sign-On (SSO) bedeutet in diesem Kontext, alle anmeldepflichtigen Dienste einer Bibliothek mit einem Login nutzen zu können. Bibliothekskundinnen und -kunden, die keiner Hochschule angehören, benötigen teilweise mehrere Logins, um auf alle Dienstleistungen einer Bibliothek zugreifen zu können. Angehörige von Hochschulen haben in der Regel ein Login für die Services der Hochschule und ein weiteres für die Nutzung der Bibliotheksdienstleistungen. 

In einem ersten Schritt (SSO 1) wurde Single Sign-On für die Angehörigen der ETH Zürich eingeführt, indem das Login der Hochschulangehörigen mit dem Bibliothekslogin verknüpft wurde. Sie können die Bibliotheksdiensleistungen seitdem mit ihrem nethz-Login nutzen. Die IT-Services der ETH-Bibliothek und die NEBIS-Verbundzentrale haben SSO 1 in einen Service überführt, der nun auch von anderen interessierten Hochschulen, Fachhochschulen und deren Bibliotheken aus dem NEBIS-Verbund genutzt werden kann.

Inzwischen hat das Projektteam den zweiten Teil von Single Sign-On (SSO 2) begonnen: Ziel ist die Einführung eines neuen Logins, mit dem die Kundinnen und Kunden, die keiner Hochschule angehören, in Zukunft alle Dienstleistungen der Bibliothek nutzen können. Das neue Login, libraries.ch, soll versuchsweise für die zwei Services E-Lending und die Publikumsstationen der ETH-Bibliothek erhältlich sein. Nach einer ersten Betriebszeit und der Auswertung der Erfahrungen sollen interessierte Bibliotheken des NEBIS-Verbundes ihre Services mit dem libraries.ch-Login verbinden können. Damit sollen Kundinnen und Kunden, die keiner Hochschule angehören, insbesondere für elektronische Bibliotheksangebote keine zusätzlichen Logins und Neueinschreibungen mehr benötigen.

Synergien und Kontext

Ausschlaggebend für dieses Projekt waren das Wissensportal, das Projekt E-Lending und der Zugang zu den Publikumsstationen der ETH-Bibliothek. Für die genannten Zusammenhänge sind moderne Authentisierungs- und Autorisierungslösungen eine zentrale Grundlage

ZeitrahmenAblauf
Januar 2016:Einführung des neuen Login-Angebotes libraries.ch Version 1.0
Dezember 2015:Abschluss der Entwicklung von Identity Provider (IDP) und Prozessdesign     
Januar 2016:Einführung des neuen Login-Angebotes libraries.ch Version 1.0
Frühling 2016:Auswertung der Erfahrungen, Planung von Verbesserungen
Sommer 2016:Launch Version 1.1, Aufnahme der Anforderungen interessierter NEBIS-Bibliotheken
Herbst 2016:   Voraussichtlicher Launch der Version 1.2
Herbst 2017:Projektende

Unternavigation und ergänzende Informationen

Ergänzende Informationen Single Sign-On

Kontakt

Gabriella Padovan
Projektleitung
+41 44 632 39 94
gabriella.padovan@library.ethz.ch

Gabriella Padovan