Stomachion

Stomachion

The stomachion, also known as the loculus or syntemachion, is a square dissected into fourteen pieces. The area of the individual elements is in rational proportion to the area of the square. Players can form as many shapes as they like with the stomachion. In doing so, all the pieces must be used without any overlapping.

Stomachion – history

The stomachion can be traced back to Archimedes, who is supposed to have set the task of dissecting the square into fourteen pieces and also solved it himself. The manuscript attributed to Archimedes in which the stomachion is described was discovered in 1899 in an Arabic translation and in 1906 in a Greek palimpsest (a parchment that has been erased and rewritten) from the tenth century.

Stomachion – mathematics

If the stomachion is placed on a grid of 12x12 squares, all the corners of the fragments lie on these grid points, which makes it easy to comprehend that the areas of the individual fragments are in rational proportion to the area of the square. Working out the areas is a nice application of George Pick's theorem to calculate the area of a polygon drawn on a grid (1899). 

In 2003 the American mathematician William Cutler used a computer programme to illustrate that there are 536 possibilities in all to assemble the fourteen pieces into a square. Patterns produced by rotating or reflecting another pattern or interchanging congruent pieces are counted only once.

Stomachion

Stomachion

Das Stomachion, auch Loculus oder Syntemachion genannt, ist ein Quadrat, das in 14 Teile zerlegt ist. Der Flächeninhalt der einzelnen Elemente steht in einem rationalen Verhältnis zum Flächeninhalt des Quadrates. Man kann mit dem Stomachion beliebig viele Formen bilden. Dazu müssen alle Teile verwendet werden, und sie dürfen sich nicht überlappen.

Stomachion – Geschichte

Das Stomachion wird auf Archimedes zurückgeführt. Er soll die Aufgabe der Zerlegung des Quadrates in 14 Teile gestellt und auch selber gelöst haben. Der Archimedes zugeschriebene Text, in dem das Stomachion beschrieben ist, wird 1899 in einer arabischen Übersetzung sowie 1906 in einem griechischen Palimpsest (einem ausradierten und neu beschriebenen Pergament) aus dem 10. Jahrhundert entdeckt.

Stomachion – Mathematik

Unterlegt man das Stomachion mit einem Raster von 12x12 Quadraten, so liegen alle Ecken der Teilfiguren auf diesen Gitterpunkten. Dadurch wird leicht nachvollziehbar, dass die Flächeninhalte der einzelnen Elemente in einem rationalen Verhältnis zum Flächeninhalt des Quadrates stehen. Die Berechnung der Flächeninhalte ist eine schöne Anwendung des Satzes von Georg Pick zur Berechnung des Flächeninhaltes eines Polygons, das auf einem Gitter gezeichnet wird (1899).

Der amerikanische Mathematiker William Cutler hat im Jahre 2003 mit Hilfe eines Computer-Programmes gezeigt, dass es insgesamt 536 Möglichkeiten gibt, die 14 Teile zu einem Quadrat zusammenzustellen. Muster, die durch Drehung oder Spiegelung eines anderen Musters oder durch Vertauschen von deckungsgleichen Teilen entstehen, sind dabei nicht mitgezählt.