Solar eclipses as a symbol

Solar eclipses and superstition

Bernard Le Bovier de Fontenelle (1657–1757)

Dialogen über die Mehrheit der Welten (Berlin, 1789)

Many ancient civilisations regarded and feared solar eclipses as supernatural apparitions. People considered them omens of pending doom or believed the sun was being attacked by hostile demons. 

In his book entitled "Entretiens sur la pluralité des mondes (external link)" (London, 1761), Bernard Le Bovier de Fontenelle mentions that there was a belief throughout Eastern India that an evil monster threatened the sun during a solar eclipse. Consequently, during such an event rivers full of Indians standing up to their necks in the water could be seen, which was deemed a devout and appropriate way to urge the sun to put up a courageous fight. 

In other civilisations, it was common to scare away the demons threatening the sun by screaming and making noise. It was also customary to cover fountains during solar eclipses to protect people against poisoning.   

These superstitious views were not always adverse. Sometimes, they even had positive consequences. As Hermann J. Klein writes in "Die Sonnen- und Mondfinsternisse" (Kreuznach, 1870):

"In 584 BC, a total solar eclipse occurred across part of Asia Minor when Allyattes, King of Lydia, and Cyaxares of Media went into battle. The armies fled the battlefield in terror and the rulers made peace."

A similar superstition is documented far more recently. François Arago explains that the announcement of a solar eclipse in Paris and the surrounding area in the seventeenth century spread such terror that the priests could not cope with the flurry to the confessional box.    

Johann Jacob Scheuchzer (1672–1733)

Eclipsis passionalis from the "Kupfer-Bibel (external link)" (Vierdte Abtheilung, Augsburg and Ulm, 1735)

Solar eclipses as a stylistic chronicling device

The natural spectacle has often been associated with key events. Solar eclipses have even been fabricated by chroniclers to stress the importance of certain events (battles, the birth or death of a king).

Atmospheric hazes have sometimes been confused with solar eclipses. These include the "eclipsis passionalis", the eclipse at Christ's crucifixion, which is portrayed by the evangelists Mathew, Mark and Luke, and depicted so impressively in Johann Jakob Scheuchzer's (external link) "Copper Bible". In truth, no evidence of this solar eclipse has been found.

Solar eclipses and mythology

The disappearance of the sun and the moon during solar and lunar eclipses has also been explained purely mythologically: people supposed that a dragon devoured the sun and the moon before eventually releasing them again, which is why the intersections between the ecliptic – the plane in which the earth moves – and the lunar orbit are still referred to as the "head and tail of the dragon" to this day as eclipses can only occur in their vicinity. The timespan between two moon passages through the dragon's head and tail is also known as the "draconic month". 

Peter Apian (1495–1552)

In this hand-coloured woodcut from "Astronomicum Caesareum (external link)" (Ingolstadt, 1540), a dragon is depicted in connection with the lunar eclipse.

Sonnenfinsternisse als Zeichen

Sonnenfinsternis und Aberglauben

Bernard Le Bovier de Fontenelle (1657–1757)

Dialogen über die Mehrheit der Welten (Berlin, 1789)

Viele alte Völker sahen Sonnenfinsternisse als übernatürliche Erscheinungen an und fürchteten sich davor. Man betrachtete sie als Vorboten nahenden Unheils oder glaubte, die Sonne sei von feindlichen Dämonen bedrängt.

In den "Entretiens sur la pluralité des mondes (Link verlässt diese Seite)" von Bernard Le Bovier de Fontenelle (London, 1761) wird erwähnt, dass in ganz Ostindien der Glaube herrsche, zur Zeit einer Sonnenfinsternis bedrohe ein bösartiges Ungeheuer die Sonne. Daher sehe man zu solcher Zeit die Flüsse voll Inder, die bis an den Hals im Wasser stehen. Diese Stellung galt als andächtig und geeignet, um die Sonne zu veranlassen, sich tapfer zu verteidigen.

Bei anderen Völkern war es üblich, durch Geschrei und Lärm die Dämonen, welche die Sonne bedrohten, zu verscheuchen. Auch war es üblich Brunnen zu bedecken, um sich vor Vergiftungen zu schützen.

Solche abergläubische Ansichten waren nicht immer schädlich. Sie hatten sogar manchmal gute Folgen. Hermann J. Klein erzählt in "Die Sonnen- und Mondfinsternisse" (Kreuznach, 1870):

"Im Jahr 584 v. Chr. trat für einen Theil Klein-Asiens eine totale Sonnenfinsternis ein, als sich eben Allyattes König von Lydien und Kyaxares von Medien eine Schlacht lieferten. Die erschreckten Heere liessen vom Kampfe ab und die Fürsten schlossen Frieden."

Ähnlichem Aberglauben begegnet man noch in späterer Zeit. So erzählt François Arago, dass im 17. Jahrhundert die Ankündigung einer Sonnenfinsternis in Paris und Umgebung solchen Schrecken verbreitet habe, dass die Geistlichen dem Andrang zum Beichtstuhl nicht gewachsen waren.

Johann Jacob Scheuchzer (1672–1733)

Eclipsis passionalis aus der "Kupfer-Bibel (Link verlässt diese Seite)" (Vierdte Abtheilung, Augsburg und Ulm, 1735)

Sonnenfinsternis als Stilmittel der Geschichtsschreibung

Das Naturschauspiel wurde oft mit bedeutenden Ereignissen in Zusammenhang gebracht. Sonnenfinsternisse wurden auch von Geschichtsschreibern erfunden, um die Bedeutung gewisser Ereignisse (Schlachten, Geburt oder Tod eines Königs) zu betonen.

Auch atmosphärische Trübungen wurden manchmal mit Sonnenfinsternissen verwechselt. Zu diesen gehört die "eclipsis passionalis", die Finsternis der Passion Christi, die von den Evangelisten Matthäus, Markus und Lukas geschildert wird, und die in der "Kupfer-Bibel" von Johann Jakob Scheuchzer (Link verlässt diese Seite) so eindrucksvoll dargestellt wird. Für diese Sonnenfinsternis ist in der Tat kein Nachweis gefunden worden.

Sonnenfinsternis und Mythologie

Das Verschwinden von Sonne und Mond bei Sonnen- und Mondfinsternissen erklärte man auch auf eine rein mythologische Weise: Man nahm an, dass ein Drache Sonne und Mond verschlang, um sie nach einer kurzen Weile wieder freizugeben. Daher heissen noch heute die Schnittpunkte der Ekliptik – der Ebene, in welcher sich die Erde bewegt – mit der Mondbahn "Drachenpunkte", da nur in ihrer Nähe Finsternisse auftreten können. Die Zeitspanne zwischen zwei Drachenpunkt-Durchgängen des Mondes wird auch "drakonischer Monat" genannt.

Peter Apian (1495–1552)

Im handkolorierten Holzschnitt aus dem "Astronomicum Caesareum (Link verlässt diese Seite)" (Ingolstadt, 1540) ist der Drache in Zusammenhang mit der Mondfinsternis zu sehen.