Perinorm

Perinorm (external link)is a bibliographical database to search for standards and technical regulations. Perinorm includes over 1.1 million records from 23 countries. The Perinorm licence of the ETH-Bibliothek provides full text access to the currently applicable standards of the Swiss Association for Standardisation (SNV, SN standards), the Association of German Engineers (VDI), the German Institute for Standardisation (DIN), the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE), as well as the International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO). The entries are updated monthly. The full texts of the SIA Norms are not available in Perinorm but only accessible on site.

Note

Students and Members of ETH Zurich can access the full text by clicking the flag symbol. Note that neither the Knowledge Portal nor an internet search lead to full text access. If the flag symbol is not shown for the requested norm, there are several further possibilities:

  • You may write the number of the norm (without leading letters) in the field "Document Identifier+" to find the full text of a corresponding norm which was published in a different country (foreword and appendix may be different, the main text is identical).
  • By selecting the view "System-default" or "System Standard" for a requested norm, check if there is a field called "International relationship". The given link may lead to a corresponding norm with full-text option.
  • Full texts of DIN Norms are published in the series "DIN-Taschenbuch" by Beuth. These books are available at the ETH-Bibliothek. The corresponding volume is given in the field "Handbook" in Perinorm. Printed  DIN-Norms can also be found by searching the Knowledge Portal with the number of the norm.
  • Norms may be bought from SNV, Beuth or the Österreichischen Normenorganisation.

Access

At the work stations of ETH-Bibliothek you can access the database, but not the full text. Students and other members of the ETH Zurich get access to the full texts on computers within the ETH Zurich network or on their external computer via VPN (external link). It is neither possible nor legal to save full texts. You may print the full texts. It is not allowed to pass full text documents to third parties who are not affiliated to the ETH Zurich.

To open the full text you have to install the FileOpen Plugin (external link) for your Acrobat Reader. If you have problems with the installation, please contact your IT-Support.

If you have any technical problems or questions about access rights, please contact the Database Helpdesk.

Further Standards

In the domain of the ETH Zurich you can access the full text of the IEEE Standards (external link) and the ASTM Standards (external link) by an internet search. Alternatively, you may search from within both portals. There is further information on standards in the database overview site.

Courses

Courses are held by appointment. They explain the various search strategies and features using specific examples.

Tutorials  

Short guide to Perinorm (external link)