Scopus

Scopus (external link) is a multidisciplinary citation and abstract database for research literature and quality web sources. Several tools are available for tracing, analysing and visualising research information. The covered science fields are:

  • Sciences, Technology, Medicine
  • Social Sciences
  • Arts and Humanities

Update

Daily

Note

Contains citations from scientific articles (References and Citations), enabling citation analysis (Who is quoting whom? Who is being quoted by whom?).

Access

Access to this database is restricted to the ethz.ch domain due to licensing reasons. If you have any technical problems or questions about access rights, please contact the Database Helpdesk.

Training courses

  • For this database, we offer both regular training courses and courses arranged by request for groups of five people or more. Please contact us.
  • The content of the course includes subject-based searching, citation analysis and personalization.

Tutorials

"How to" by Elsevier SciVerse (external link)

Comparison Web of Science Core Collection – Scopus

Comparison ofWeb of Science Core CollectionSciVerse Scopus
Contents – Journals33,000 journals from more than 250 disciplines23,000 journals (of which 3,600 are open-access)
Contents – Conferences7.4 million conference papers8 million conference papers from journals and conference proceedings
Contents – Patents33 million patents from the "Derwent World Patent Index"28 million patents from 5 patent offices
Contents Books60,000 single titles562 book series with 34,000 single titles
Volume of data100 million entries67 million entries
Referencesfrom 1900from 1996
Updatesweeklydaily
Period coveredfrom 1900from 1823
Coverageglobal, with American focusglobal, with European focus
Subject areasmultidisciplinarymultidisciplinary
Identification of authors and institutions ResearcherID (authors must register)author ID (assigned automatically), affiliation identifier
Functions alert service
related records (based on shared references)
alert service
related records (based on either shared references, authors or keywords)
Literature managementEndNote, RefWorks, BibTeX, etc.EndNote Web, EndNote, BibTeX, etc.
Special features incorporates "Journal Citation Reports"
Bibliometric analysis with "InCite"
"Articles-in-Press" from more than 3,850 journals
All Medline data are included.
UTF-8 encoding, to display umlauts and special characters.