Rediscovery of Fibonacci in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries

Fibonacci's work was first rediscovered in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. His achievements elicited admiration and were for the first time placed in a historical and cultural context. The first and only comprehensive edition of Fibonacci's complete works was also published at this time.

Johann Christoph Heilbronner (external link) was born in Ulm in 1706 and died in Leipzig in 1745 or 1747. Initially he studied theology, then mathematics and also gave lectures in Leipzig on this subject. Heilbronner became known for his publications on the history of mathematics. His most important work, "Historia matheseos" (1742), was reviewed in a number of very different ways. Jean-Etienne Montucla said about this massive and badly organised collection of material that it imparted facts that would otherwise have escaped him. Apart from lives of mathematicians, the collection also contains a compilation of Aristotle's contributions to mathematics and reviews of mathematical manuscripts found in European libraries.

The section on Leonardo of Pisa shows that Heilbronner knew little or nothing about Fibonacci's life and work. He relocated him in the fifteenth century and also confused him with John Peckham, the author of a work on optics ("Perspectiva Communis").

Bernardino Baldi
Bernardino Baldi

Bernardino Baldi (external link) was born in Urbino in 1553. After a classical education with a private tutor, he joined the circle around the famous mathematician Federico Commandino and began studying mathematics under him. In 1573 he switched to the University of Padua, where he studied medicine, philosophy and literature.

Inspired by the life of his teacher Commandino, Baldi began immediately after his death in 1575 to amass comprehensive historical and biographical material, relying on a precise study of the sources available at that time. In twelve years' work, Baldi collected more than 200 mathematics biographies, which he then recorded on almost 2,000 sides of manuscript under the title "De le vite de' matematici".

History of mathematics of modern times

This monumental work is the first comprehensive history of mathematics of modern times. However, it was never published in Baldi's lifetime and even later only in part. The bulk of the 100 other scientific and literary writings of this multifaceted universal scholar also remained unpublished. Baldi died in Urbino in 1617.

A much-used abridged version of the "Vite" is the "Cronica de' matematici" (external link), the first edition of which came out in 1707. It also contains a section on Leonardo of Pisa. In terms of time, Fibonacci was here located around 1400, thus almost two centuries after his actual lifetime. The article mentions among other things that Commandino had planned an edition of "Practica geometriae" and names Pacioli and Tartaglia as important recipients of Fibonacci's works.

Jean-Etienne Montucla
Jean-Etienne Montucla

Jean-Etienne Montucla (external link) was born in Lyons in 1725, where he received his school education in the Jesuit college. At the age of twenty, he went to Toulouse to study jurisprudence. He also expanded his knowledge by studying in Paris, where he became friends with d'Alembert, Diderot and Lalande, and began studying the history of mathematics. Suggestions from his friends and the bookseller and publisher Charles-Antoine Jombert prompted him to write and publish a history of mathematics. The success of his first work, "Histoire des recherches sur la quadrature du cercle" (external link) (1754) persuaded him to press on with his "Histoire des mathématiques". A first edition of the work was published in 1758 in two volumes.

Histoire des mathématiques

Montucla's masterpiece is distinguished by an exceptional amount of material. It is the first overview that also includes the applications of mathematics. The first volume deals with the history of mathematics from its earliest days up to 1700. The second volume is entirely dedicated to mathematics of the eighteenth century. In 1799 the first two volumes of the second edition of his "Histoire des mathématiques" (external link) were published, by then improved, expanded and arranged over four volumes. Work on the third volume was well advanced when Montucla died in Versailles in 1799. His friend Lalande completed volumes 3 and 4 as Montucla had originally intended.

Montucla credits Fibonacci with having made the algebra of the Arabs known in Europe but, in terms of time, locates him in the fifteenth century. He obviously relied on Baldi's "Cronica de' matematici" and disregarded the advances in knowledge that Italian scholars had already made in his time.

Pietro Cossali
Pietro Cossali

By Didier Descouens (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0], via Wikimedia Commons

The mathematician Pietro Cossali (1748–1815) came from a noble Veronese family. From 1786 he taught physics, astronomy and hydraulics at the University in Parma. In 1806 he was appointed mathematics professor by the University of Padua. Cossali focussed on Fibonacci's work. Also preserved through him is an excerpt from the Milan codex of "Liber abaci", which was edited by Baldassarre Boncompagni together with other papers by Cossali found posthumously. With Giambattista Guglielmini, Cossali is credited as the first to have critically acclaimed Fibonacci’s work and his importance as an intermediary between the Arab world and the Western world in disseminating mathematical knowledge.

Fibonacci's acclaim

In Cossali's main two-volume work "Origine, trasporto in Italia, primi progressi in essa dell'algebra" (external link) (1797–1799) (Origin of algebra as it was brought to Italy and its initial advances thereat), Fibonacci's mathematical achievements are expressly highlighted in the foreword. These achievements, it said, stood at the inception of all mathematical endeavours in Italy, were continuing to have an effect throughout the world and had therefore unjustly gone without notice for a long time. The first chapter then begins with the name of Leonardo of Pisa and is dedicated to a detailed analysis of his work. With Cossali, there is also one of the earliest mentions of the "Fibonacci" name. In literature this name is often wrongly interpreted as a contraction of "filius Bonacci" (son of Bonaccio). But, as Baldassarre Boncompagni convincingly pointed out, the Fi- syllable stands for "de filiis", i.e. "from the family Bonacci". There is no indication that Leonardo of Pisa was called "Fibonacci" by his contemporaries. 

Giambattista Guglielmini (external link) was born in Bologna in 1760 or 1763. From his earliest youth he had a tonsure. With support from Cardinal Ignazio Boncompagni, he was able to study and completed his philosophy studies at the age of 24. In 1792 in his home town he carried out his famous experiment to prove the Earth's rotation, published under the title "De diurno terrae motu". Guglielmini worked from 1794 until his death in 1817 as professor of mathematics at the University of Bologna, where he oversaw the conversion of monastery libraries into public and university libraries. He also built up a significant private library. This library included a manuscript of Fibonacci's "Practica geometriae", later described by Baldassarre Boncompagni in his "Scritti di Leonardo Pisano".

At the beginning of the 1812 academic year, Guglielmini delivered his eulogy to Fibonacci: "Elogio di Lionardo Pisano". In this laudatory essay, Guglielmini presented substantial documentation on Fibonacci's life and work and for the first time placed it in a cultural and historical context.

Guglielmo Libri
Guglielmo Libri

Born in Florence in 1803, Guglielmo Libri (external link) came from one of Florence’s oldest noble families. He was an exceptionally gifted mathematician and at the age of 17 published a work on number theory and Fermat's theorem, praised by Carl Friedrich Gauss. Libri became professor of mathematical physics in Pisa in 1823. In 1831 he had to flee to Southern France after a political scandal. He became a French citizen and taught at the Collège de France in Paris from 1833. He was elected a member of the Académie des Sciences and appointed Inspector of the Libraries of France. As professor of analysis and probability theory at the Sorbonne, Libri was also editor of the "Journal des savants".

History of mathematics from the Romans to Galileo

His four-volume, scientifically and stylistically brilliant work "Histoire des sciences mathématiques en Italie", a history of mathematics from the Romans to Galileo Galilei, was published between 1838 and 1841 and ensured him the unanimous esteem of the academic world. To escape a charge for stealing valuable books for which he was threatened with ten years’ imprisonment, Libri fled to London in 1848. In 1861 he returned to his homeland of Italy, where he died in 1869.

Libri devotes twenty-two pages to Fibonacci in the second volume of his "Histoire". He credits him with being the first to have disseminated the Indo-Arabic numeral system in the Christian world and stresses his influence on the development of mathematics in Europe. In doing so, Libri expressly takes a stand against the mathematics historian Michel Chasles, who played down the significance of Arabic mathematics and Fibonacci's role in its dissemination and tried to present the decimal place-value system as an achievement of the Western world.

Baldassarre Boncompagni
Baldassarre Boncompagni

Baldassarre Boncompagni (external link) was born into a noble family in 1821 in Rome, where he died in 1894. He studied mathematics and physics and dedicated himself in particular to the history of mathematics. His treasured private library is said to have comprised over 600 manuscripts and 40,000 printed works. Boncompagni founded the "Bullettino di bibliografia e di storia delle scienze matematiche e fisiche", one of the first journals dedicated entirely to the history of the exact sciences. It was published from 1868 to 1887 and made a substantial contribution to the history of mathematics.

Published in 1852, "Della vita e delle opere di Leonardo Pisano" to some extent represents the foreword to his Fibonacci edition. It provides an outline of Fibonacci's life and a detailed overview of the manuscripts consulted by Boncompagni for his edition. In his searches, Boncompagni discovered another three manuscripts, which he revised under the title "Intorno alcune opere di Leonardo Pisano".

Only complete edition of Fibonacci's works

Boncompagni's most important achievement is his research into the life and work of Leonardo of Pisa. Only as a result of his efforts did Fibonacci's books become accessible to a greater audience and enable his achievements to be investigated. Between 1857 and 1862 Boncompagni – with great financial commitment and in his own printing press, Tipografia delle scienze matematiche e fisiche, housed in his palazzo in Rome – published Fibonacci's complete works under the title "Scritti di Leonardo Pisano" (external link). Volume 1 contains "Liber abaci", volume 2 "Practica geometriae" and the three "opuscoli": "Flos", "Epistola ad Magistrum Theodorum" and "Liber quadratorum". Boncompagni had previously published these three smaller works in three editions: "Tre scritti inediti di Leonardo Pisano" (1854), "Sopra tre scritti inediti di Leonardo Pisano" (1855) and "Opuscoli di Leonardo Pisano" (1856). To date, the "Scritti di Leonardo Pisano" is the only complete edition of Fibonacci's works.

Wiederentdeckung Fibonaccis im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert

Fibonaccis Werk wurde erst im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert wiederentdeckt. Seine Leistungen gaben Anlass zur Bewunderung und wurden erstmals in einen historischen und kulturellen Kontext gesetzt. Auch die erste und einzige vollständige Edition von Fibonaccis Gesamtwerk wurde in diesem Zeitraum herausgegeben.

Johann Christoph Heilbronner (Link verlässt diese Seite) wurde 1706 in Ulm geboren und verstarb 1745 oder 1747 in Leipzig. Er studierte anfänglich Theologie, dann Mathematik und hielt in Leipzig auch Vorlesungen in diesem Fach. Bekannt wurde Heilbronner aufgrund seiner Veröffentlichungen über die Geschichte der Mathematik. Sein wichtigstes Werk, die "Historia matheseos" (Link verlässt diese Seite) (1742), wurde sehr unterschiedlich bewertet. Jean-Etienne Montucla äusserte sich zu dieser gewaltigen, wenngleich wenig geordneten Materialsammlung, sie habe ihm Tatsachen vermittelt, die ihm sonst entgangen wären. Neben Viten von Mathematikern enthält die Sammlung auch eine Zusammenstellung der mathematischen Stellen bei Aristoteles sowie Berichte über mathematische Handschriften, die in europäischen Bibliotheken zu finden sind.

Der Abschnitt über Leonardo Pisano zeigt, dass Heilbronner von Fibonaccis Leben und Werk keine genauen Kenntnisse hatte. Er verlegte ihn ins 15. Jahrhundert und verwechselte ihn darüber hinaus mit John Peckham, dem Verfasser eines Werkes über Optik ("Perspectiva Communis").

Bernardino Baldi
Bernardino Baldi

Bernardino Baldi (Link verlässt diese Seite) wurde im Jahr 1553 in Urbino geboren. Nach einer klassischen Ausbildung durch einen Privatlehrer schloss er sich dem Kreis um den berühmten Mathematiker Federico Commandino an und begann unter ihm ein Studium der Mathematik. Im Jahr 1573 wechselte er an die Universität von Padua, wo er ein Studium der Medizin, Philosophie und Literatur aufnahm.

Angeregt durch die Biographie seines Lehrers Commandino, begann Baldi unmittelbar nach dessen Tod im Jahre 1575 umfangreiches historisch-biographisches Material zusammenzutragen, wobei er sich auf ein genaues Studium der damals vorhandenen Quellen abstützte. In zwölf Jahren Arbeit sammelte Baldi auf diese Weise mehr als 200 Mathematiker-Biographien, die er anschliessend auf fast 2000 Manuskriptseiten unter dem Titel "De le vite de' matematici" niederschrieb.

Mathematikgeschichte der Neuzeit

Das monumentale Werk ist die erste umfassende Mathematikgeschichte der Neuzeit. Es wurde jedoch zu Baldis Lebzeiten nie und auch später nur auszugsweise veröffentlicht. Auch der Grossteil der an die 100 weiteren wissenschaftlichen und literarischen Schriften dieses vielseitigen Universalgelehrten blieb unpubliziert. Baldi verstarb im Jahr 1617 in Urbino.

Eine viel genutzte Kurzfassung der "Vite" ist die im Jahre 1707 in Erstausgabe erschienene "Cronica de' matematici" (Link verlässt diese Seite). In ihr findet sich auch ein Abschnitt über Leonardo Pisano. Zeitlich wird Fibonacci hier um 1400 angesiedelt, also fast zwei Jahrhunderte nach seiner tatsächlichen Lebenszeit. Der Artikel erwähnt unter anderem, dass Commandino eine Edition der "Practica geometriae" geplant hatte, und nennt Pacioli und Tartaglia als wichtige Rezipienten der Werke Fibonaccis.

Jean-Etienne Montucla
Jean-Etienne Montucla

Jean-Etienne Montucla (Link verlässt diese Seite) wurde im Jahr 1725 in Lyon geboren. Seine schulische Ausbildung erhielt er im dortigen Jesuitenkollegium. Im Alter von 20 Jahren ging er zum Studium der Jurisprudenz nach Toulouse. Ferner erweiterte er sein Wissen durch Studien in Paris und freundete sich dort mit d'Alembert, Diderot und Lalande an. In Paris begann Montucla mit dem Studium der Geschichte der Mathematik. Die Ratschläge seiner Freunde sowie des Buchhändlers und Verlegers C.A. Jombert bewogen ihn dazu, eine Geschichte der Mathematik zu schreiben und zu publizieren. Der Erfolg seines Erstlings "Histoire des recherches sur la quadrature du cercle" (Link verlässt diese Seite) (1754) war ihm Ansporn für die Weiterarbeit an seiner "Histoire des mathématiques". Eine erste Ausgabe des Werkes erschien im Jahr 1758 in zwei Bänden.

Histoire des mathématiques

Montuclas Meisterstück zeichnet sich durch eine ungemeine Materialfülle aus. Es ist die erste Darstellung, die auch die Anwendungen der Mathematik mit einbezieht. Der erste Band behandelt die Geschichte der Mathematik von ihren Anfängen bis zum Jahr 1700. Der zweite Band ist gänzlich der Mathematik des 18. Jahrhunderts gewidmet. Im Jahr 1799 erschienen die beiden ersten Bände der auf vier Bände angelegten, verbesserten und erweiterten zweiten Auflage seiner "Histoire des mathématiques" (Link verlässt diese Seite). Die Arbeit am dritten Band war weit fortgeschritten, als Montucla im Jahr 1799 in Versailles verstarb. Sein Freund Lalande vollendete die Bände 3 und 4, so wie es Montucla ursprünglich beabsichtigt hatte.

Montucla anerkennt das Verdienst Fibonaccis, die Algebra der Araber in Europa bekannt gemacht zu haben, siedelt ihn jedoch zeitlich im 15. Jahrhundert an. Er stützt sich offenbar auf Baldis "Cronica de' matematici" und ignoriert die Erkenntnisfortschritte, die italienische Gelehrte zu seiner Zeit bereits gemacht hatten.

Pietro Cossali
Pietro Cossali

By Didier Descouens (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Der Mathematiker Pietro Cossali (1748–1815) entstammte einer adeligen Veroneser Familie. Von 1786 an lehrte er an der Universität in Parma die Fächer Physik, Astronomie und Hydraulik. 1806 wurde er als Mathematikprofessor an die Universität Padua berufen. Cossali befasste sich intensiv mit dem Werk Fibonaccis. Von ihm ist auch ein Exzerpt aus dem Mailänder Codex des "Liber abaci" erhalten, das von Baldassarre Boncompagni zusammen mit anderen nachgelassenen Schriften Cossalis ediert wurde. Cossali gebührt neben Giambattista Guglielmini das Verdienst, als erster die Werke Fibonaccis und dessen Bedeutung als Mittler zwischen der arabischen Welt und dem Abendland bei der Verbreitung des mathematischen Wissens kritisch gewürdigt zu haben.

Würdigung Fibonaccis

In Cossalis zweibändigem Hauptwerk "Origine, trasporto in Italia, primi progressi in essa dell'algebra" (Link verlässt diese Seite) (1797–1799) ("Herkunft der Algebra, wie sie nach Italien gebracht wurde, und ihre ersten Fortschritte daselbst") werden schon im Vorwort die mathematischen Leistungen Fibonaccis ausdrücklich hervorgehoben. Diese stünden am Anfang aller mathematischen Bemühungen in Italien, wirkten in der ganzen Welt fort und seien daher zu Unrecht so lange Zeit unbeachtet geblieben. Das erste Kapitel beginnt dann mit dem Namen von Leonardo Pisano und widmet sich einer eingehenden Analyse seines Werkes. Bei Cossali findet sich auch einer der frühesten Belege für den Namen "Fibonacci". Dieser wird in der Literatur oft fälschlicherweise als Kontraktion von "filius Bonacci" ("Sohn des Bonaccio") gedeutet. Die Silbe Fi- steht jedoch, wie Baldassarre Boncompagni überzeugend dargelegt hat, für "de filiis", das heisst "aus der Familie Bonacci". Es gibt keinen Hinweis darauf, dass Leonardo von Pisa schon von seinen Zeitgenossen "Fibonacci" genannt wurde.

Giambattista Guglielmini (Link verlässt diese Seite) wurde im Jahr 1760 oder 1763 in Bologna geboren. Schon in frühester Jugend erhielt er die Tonsur. Mit Unterstützung von Kardinal Ignazio Boncompagni konnte er studieren und schloss mit 24 Jahren ein Philosophiestudium ab. In seiner Vaterstadt realisierte er im Jahr 1792 sein berühmtes Experiment zum Beweis der Erdrotation, veröffentlicht unter dem Titel "De diurno terrae motu" (Link verlässt diese Seite). Guglielmini wirkte von 1794 bis zu seinem Tode im Jahr 1817 als Professor für Mathematik an der Universität in Bologna. Er sorgte dort für die Überführung der Klosterbibliotheken in öffentliche und Universitätsbibliotheken. Daneben baute er sich eine bedeutende Privatbibliothek auf. Darin befand sich auch eine Handschrift von Fibonaccis "Practica geometriae", die später von Baldassarre Boncompagni in seinen "Scritti di Leonardo Pisano" beschrieben wurde.

Zur Eröffnung des akademischen Jahres 1812 hielt Guglielmini seine Lobrede auf Fibonacci: "Elogio di Lionardo Pisano". In dieser essayistischen Laudatio legte Guglielmini eine reichhaltige Dokumentation zu Fibonaccis Leben und Werk vor und stellte dieses erstmals in einen kulturellen und geschichtlichen Kontext.

Guglielmo Libri
Guglielmo Libri

Guglielmo Libri (Link verlässt diese Seite), im Jahr 1803 in Florenz geboren, entstammte einer der ältesten Adelsfamilien von Florenz. Er war mathematisch ausserordentlich begabt und publizierte bereits als 17jähriger eine Arbeit zur Zahlentheorie und zum Theorem von Fermat, über die sich Carl Friedrich Gauss lobend äusserte. Im Jahr 1823 wurde Libri Professor für mathematische Physik in Pisa. Nach einer politischen Affäre musste er im Jahr 1831 nach Südfrankreich fliehen. Er wurde französischer Staatsbürger und lehrte ab 1833 am Collège de France in Paris. Er wurde als Mitglied in die Académie des Sciences gewählt und zum "Inspektor der Bibliotheken von Frankreich" ernannt. Als Professor für Analysis und Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung an der Sorbonne war Libri auch Redakteur des "Journal des savants".

Geschichte der Mathematik von den Römern bis Galilei

Sein vierbändiges, wissenschaftlich und stilistisch brillantes Werk "Histoire des sciences mathématiques en Italie", eine Geschichte der Mathematik von den Römern bis zu Galileo Galilei, erschien zwischen 1838 und 1841 und sicherte ihm die einhellige Wertschätzung der Fachwelt. Um einer Anklage wegen Diebstahls wertvoller Bücher, für die ihm eine zehnjährige Gefängnisstrafe drohte, zu entgehen, floh Libri im Jahr 1848 nach London. Im Jahr 1861 kehrte er in seine Heimat Italien zurück, wo er 1869 verstarb.

Libri widmet Fibonacci im zweiten Band seiner "Histoire" 22 Seiten. Er würdigt sein Verdienst, als erster das indisch-arabische Zahlensystem in der christlichen Welt verbreitet zu haben, und betont seinen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der Mathematik in Europa. Dabei bezieht Libri ausdrücklich Position gegen den Mathematikhistoriker Michel Chasles, der die Bedeutung der arabischen Mathematik und Fibonaccis Rolle bei deren Vermittlung herunterspielte und das dezimale Stellenwertsystem als eine Leistung des Abendlandes darzustellen versuchte.

Baldassarre Boncompagni
Baldassarre Boncompagni

Baldassarre Boncompagni (Link verlässt diese Seite) wurde als Sohn einer Adelsfamilie im Jahr 1821 in Rom geboren, wo er 1894 verstarb. Er studierte Mathematik und Physik und widmete sich insbesondere der Mathematikgeschichte. Seine wertvolle Privatbibliothek soll über 600 Handschriften und 40 000 gedruckte Werke umfasst haben. Boncompagni gründete das "Bullettino di bibliografia e di storia delle scienze matematiche e fisiche", eine der ersten Zeitschriften, die ganz der Geschichte der exakten Wissenschaften gewidmet war. Sie erschien von 1868 bis 1887 und trug viel zum Studium der Geschichte der Mathematik bei.

Die 1852 veröffentlichte Schrift "Della vita e delle opere di Leonardo Pisano" stellt gewissermassen das Vorwort zu seiner Fibonacci-Edition dar. Sie bietet einen Abriss über Fibonaccis Biographie und eine detaillierte Übersicht über die Handschriften, die Boncompagni für seine Edition konsultierte. Im Rahmen seiner Nachforschungen entdeckte Boncompagni noch drei weitere Handschriften, über die er 1854 unter dem Titel "Intorno alcune opere di Leonardo Pisano" berichtete.

Einzige vollständige Edition der Werke Fibonaccis

Boncompagnis bedeutendste Leistung ist die Erforschung des Lebens und Werkes von Leonardo Pisano. Erst durch ihn wurden die Bücher Fibonaccis einem grösseren Publikum zugänglich und eine Erforschung seiner Leistungen möglich gemacht. Zwischen 1857 und 1862 publizierte Boncompagni mit grossem finanziellem Engagement in seiner Druckerei Tipografia delle scienze matematiche e fisiche, die in seinem Palazzo in Rom untergebracht war, das Gesamtwerk Fibonaccis unter dem Titel "Scritti di Leonardo Pisano" (Link verlässt diese Seite). Band 1 enthält den "Liber Abaci", Band 2 die "Practica geometriae" sowie die drei "opuscoli" "Flos", "Epistola ad Magistrum Theodorum" und "Liber quadratorum". Diese kleineren Schriften hatte Boncompagni schon zuvor in drei Editionen publiziert: "Tre scritti inediti di Leonardo Pisano" (1854), "Sopra tre scritti inediti di Leonardo Pisano" (1855) und "Opuscoli di Leonardo Pisano" (1856). Bis heute sind die "Scritti di Leonardo Pisano" die einzige vollständige Edition der Werke Fibonaccis.