The Pauli principle

The Pauli principle, also known as the Pauli exclusion principle, was proposed by Wolfgang Pauli in 1925. The starting point was the problem of the completion of atomic shells and the structure of the periodic system of chemical elements. On the basis of the multiplet structure of the atomic spectra and the anomalous Zeeman effect, which could not be interpreted for a long time, Pauli realised that the "peculiar, classically non-describable type of ambiguity of the quantum theoretical properties of the luminous electron" demanded a fourth quantum number for it to be described. So he added a spin quantum number, as it became known, to the three known quantum numbers: principal quantum number, orbital quantum number and magnetic quantum number.

This led him to postulate that two electrons in an atomic structure could never have all four quantum numbers in common. If one electron in an atom assumes a state described by all four quantum numbers, then this state is "occupied".

Clarification of the exclusion principle

For a long time the exclusion principle remained an addendum to quantum theory incapable of further explanation. But Pauli never gave up his goal of linking the exclusion principle with other physical principles.

It took almost another 15 years of grappling with the problem until he could finally clarify it. It turned out that the exclusion principle applied to particles with half-integral spin, e.g. electrons and protons. If these particles are described "quantum statistically", then what are termed Fermi-Dirac statistics are employed. Such particles are known as fermions. On the other hand, particles with integral spin, e.g. photons, do not obey the exclusion principle and follow what are termed Bose-Einstein statistics. Such particles are known as bosons.

In 1945 Wolfgang Pauli was awarded the Nobel Prize (external link) for his discovery of the exclusion principle.

Das Pauli-Prinzip

Das Pauli-Prinzip, auch Pauli-Verbot oder Ausschliessungsprinzip genannt, wurde von Wolfgang Pauli 1925 aufgestellt. Ausgangspunkt war das Problem des Schalenabschlusses bei Atomen und der Aufbau des periodischen Systems der chemischen Elemente. Auf der Basis der Multiplettstruktur der Atomspektren und des anomalen Zeeman-Effektes, der sich lange Zeit theoretisch nicht deuten liess, kam Pauli zunächst zur Einsicht, dass die "eigentümliche, klassisch nicht beschreibbare Art von Zweideutigkeit der quantentheoretischen Eigenschaften des Leuchtelektrons" eine vierte Quantenzahl zur Beschreibung verlangte. Damit fügte er den drei bekannten Quantenzahlen, Hauptquantenzahl, Nebenquantenzahl, magnetische Quantenzahl-, die später sogenannte Spinquantenzahl hinzu.

Danach postulierte Pauli, dass im Atombau zwei Elektronen niemals in allen vier Quantenzahlen übereinstimmende Werte haben. Wenn ein Elektron eines Atoms einen durch die vier Quantenzahlen beschriebenen Zustand einnimmt, dann ist dieser Zustand "besetzt".

Klärung des Ausschliessungsprinzips

Lange Zeit blieb das Ausschliessungsprinzip ein nicht weiter begründbarer Zusatz zur Quantentheorie. Pauli verlor aber sein Ziel, das Ausschliessungsprinzip mit anderen physikalischen Prinzipien zu verknüpfen, nicht aus den Augen.

Fast 15 Jahre dauerte die weitere Auseinandersetzung mit dem Problem, ehe Wolfgang Pauli eine endgültige Klärung gelang. Es stellte sich heraus, dass das Ausschliessungsprinzip für Teilchen mit halbzahligem Spin – z. B. Elektronen und Protonen – gilt. Werden diese Teilchen "quantenstatistisch" beschrieben, so kommt die sogenannte Fermi-Dirac-Statistik zur Anwendung. Solche Teilchen werden Fermionen genannt. Teilchen mit ganzzahligem Spin, – z. B. Photonen – befolgen hingegen das Pauli-Verbot nicht und gehorchen der sogenannte Bose-Einstein-Statistik. Solche Teilchen werden Bosonen genannt.

Im Jahre 1945 wurde Wolfgang Pauli für die Entdeckung des Ausschliessungsprinzips der Nobelpreis (Link verlässt diese Seite) verliehen.