Failed naturalisation and departure to the United States

Main building ETH Zurich

A precarious situation arose for Wolfgang Pauli when Nazi Germany annexed Austria. An initial application for naturalisation in Zurich was rejected at the end of April 1938 for formal reasons whereupon Pauli had to obtain a German passport. At the same time the situation for his father in Vienna was becoming intolerable. Thanks to the efforts of professorial friends and School Council President Arthur Rohn, Wolfgang Pauli senior managed to escape to Switzerland and obtain the possibility of work at Zurich University.

After the outbreak of World War II, Wolfgang Pauli made a second application for naturalisation in Bern, again without success. The head of the police department, Heinrich Rothmund, gave as the reason for rejecting the application that Pauli "did not satisfy the requirement of assimilation", which deeply offended him. Germany's lightning victories increased the threat situation for Switzerland and also for Pauli in particular. If Germany had occupied Switzerland, under German law he would have been treated as a Jew.

Permanent temporary arrangement at ETH Zurich

For this reason Pauli accepted a guest professorship at Princeton. To this end ETH granted him six months' leave in June 1940. But it was predictable that Wolfgang Pauli, as the national of a belligerent country, could not return to Switzerland during the war. There was resentment at ETH Zurich since colleagues and students had to make do with a permanent temporary arrangement: lectures in theoretical physics were taken over by his colleague from the university, Gregor Wentzel. Nor was the "in-house theoretician" there for research projects.

ETH tried to persuade Pauli to return and threatened to terminate the employment relationship. Pauli dug in his heels, however, saying that he would like to have attended to his duties but that he was prevented from doing so by aggravating circumstances. Federal Councillor Philipp Etter also associated himself with this viewpoint, objecting to suspending the elected professor on grounds of principle.

Gescheiterte Einbürgerung und Ausreise in die USA

Hauptgebäude der ETH Zürich

Mit dem Anschluss Österreichs an Nazi-Deutschland entstand für Wolfgang Pauli eine bedrohliche Situation. Ein erstes Einbürgerungsgesuch in Zürich wurde Ende April 1938 aus formalen Gründen abgewiesen, worauf Pauli einen deutschen Pass beziehen musste. Gleichzeitig wurde die Lage für seinen Vater in Wien unerträglich. Dank des Einsatzes befreundeter Professoren und des Schulratspräsidenten Arthur Rohn konnte Wolfgang Pauli senior in die Schweiz flüchten und fand an der Universität Zürich eine Arbeitsmöglichkeit.

Nach dem Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkrieges stellte Wolfgang Pauli in Bern ein zweites Einbürgerungsgesuch, wieder ohne Erfolg. Der Chef der Polizeiabteilung, Heinrich Rothmund, begründete die Ablehnung des Antrags damit, dass Pauli "dem Erfordernis der Assimilation nicht genüge", was Pauli zutiefst kränkte. Die Blitzsiege Deutschlands verstärkten die Bedrohungslage für die Schweiz und für Pauli speziell zusätzlich. Im Falle einer deutschen Besetzung der Schweiz wäre Pauli gemäss den deutschen Gesetzen als Jude behandelt worden.

Dauerhaftes Provisorium an der ETH Zürich

Aus diesem Grund nahm Pauli eine Gastprofessur in Princeton an. Die ETH gewährte ihm dafür im Juni 1940 Urlaub für ein halbes Jahr. Es war jedoch absehbar, dass Wolfgang Pauli als Angehöriger einer kriegführenden Nation während des Krieges nicht mehr in die Schweiz zurückkehren konnte. An der ETH Zürich regte sich Unmut, da sich Kollegen und Studierende mit einem dauerhaften Provisorium begnügen mussten: Die Vorlesungen in theoretischer Physik übernahm jeweils sein Kollege von der Universität, Gregor Wentzel. Doch auch für den Forschungsbetrieb vermisste man den "Haustheoretiker".

Von Seiten der ETH versuchte man Pauli zu einer Rückkehr zu bewegen und drohte ihm mit Auflösung des Dienstverhältnisses. Pauli jedoch beharrte auf seinem Standpunkt, er möchte ja seinen Pflichten nachkommen, doch werde er durch höhere Umstände daran gehindert. Diesem Standpunkt schloss sich auch Bundesrat Philipp Etter an, der aus prinzipiellen Gründen dagegen war, den gewählten Professor zu suspendieren.