Nobel Prize for Physics 1945

Nobel prize celebrations in Princeton

In November 1945, Wolfgang Pauli was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics for his discovery of the exclusion principle. The event was welcomed with enthusiasm at Princeton because Pauli was the first active member of the Institute to receive this ultimate accolade. His colleagues staged a large official ceremony to which many prominent people were invited. The climax was the spontaneous address by Albert Einstein, in which he described Pauli as his intellectual successor.

Nobel prize certificate

The award came at a favourable time for Wolfgang Pauli since it opened up all sorts of interesting possibilities for furthering his career. He received offers from Princeton and Columbia University in New York. He was also granted American citizenship.

Return to Zurich

Wolfgang Pauli's "Maikäferrede" at a meeting of Nobel laureates in Lindau

After all these honours and offers, nobody in Zurich reckoned seriously on Wolfgang Pauli's ever returning. His Zurich colleagues and the School Council were all the more surprised when in April 1946 Pauli did indeed fulfil his promise to take up his chair again. It had not been easy for Pauli to turn down the professorship at Columbia University or Princeton. A major role in this decision was apparently played by the increasing influence of the military over physics research in the United States, of which Pauli disapproved as a proponent of free science.

Nobelpreis für Physik 1945

Nobelpreisfeier in Princeton

Im November 1945 wurde Wolfgang Pauli der Nobelpreis für Physik für die Entdeckung des Ausschliessungsprinzips zugesprochen. Das Ereignis wurde in Princeton mit Begeisterung aufgenommen, denn Pauli war der erste Mitarbeiter des Instituts, der während seiner aktiven Zeit in Princeton diese höchsten Weihen erhielt. Die Kollegen veranstalteten eine grosse offizielle Feier, zu der viele Persönlichkeiten eingeladen wurden. Höhepunkt bildete die spontane Rede von Albert Einstein, in der er Pauli als seinen geistigen Nachfolger bezeichnete.

Nobelpreisurkunde

Die Auszeichnung kam für Wolfgang Pauli zu einem günstigen Zeitpunkt, da sich ihm nun für seine weitere Laufbahn sehr interessante Möglichkeiten eröffneten. Er erhielt Angebote aus Princeton und von der Columbia University in New York. Zudem wurde ihm die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft verliehen.

Rückkehr nach Zürich

Wolfgang Paulis "Maikäferrede" beim Treffen der Nobelpreisträger in Lindau

Nach all diesen Ehrungen und Angeboten rechnete in Zürich niemand mehr ernsthaft mit Wolfgang Paulis Rückkehr. Umso überraschter waren die Zürcher Kollegen und der Schulrat, als Pauli im April 1946 dennoch sein Versprechen wahr machte, seinen Lehrstuhl wieder zu besetzen. Es war Pauli nicht leicht gefallen, auf die Professur an der Columbia University oder in Princeton zu verzichten. Eine wichtige Rolle scheint der wachsende Einfluss des Militärs auf die physikalische Forschung in den USA gespielt zu haben, den Pauli als Anhänger einer freien Wissenschaft missbilligte.