Archival description and digitisation of the sunspot records from the Locarno-Monti observatory

Objective

Since 2016 the ETH Zurich University Archives and the DigiCenter have been indexing and digitizing sunspot activity records, which began at the Eidgenössische Sternwarte in 1884. In 1957 ETH Zurich established an observatory in Locarno-Monti. Until 1980 this solar observatory, an ETH Zurich outpost situated south of the Alps, was one of three suppliers of drawings, photographs and data for the realisation of ETH Zurich’s solar observations. When the Sternwarte was closed in 1980 and the systematic observation of sunspots was stopped at ETH Zurich, the series of observations was continued in Locarno, supervised by the newly founded Associazione Specola Solare Ticinese (ASST) instead of ETH Zurich.

The project’s goal:

  • archival description of ASST’s original records on sunspot activity from 1981 to 2017.
  • archival description and digitization of the original records on sunspot activity from the observatory Locarno-Monti - from 1957 to 2017 and publication via e-manuscripta.ch (external link)
  • preparation and publication of the digital database with sunspot data for the period 1957 to 2017 by the ASST.
  • long-term Preservation of sunspot group data from the ASST database at the ETH Data Archive 

Context

In current climatology research, this series of measurements is especially important due to its use in the long-term reconstruction of solar radiation, as the number of sunspots correlates strongly with the total solar radiation. Moreover, the records help validate models of solar activity and thus improve our understanding of past and future solar activity. The importance of these records in a climatological context is also evident in the fact that the observations of sunspots in the recently published implementation plan of the Global Climate Observing System (GCOS) were recognised as a valuable source of information for climate studies.

Description

Thanks to funding from MeteoSchweiz within the scope of GCOS Schweiz and in collaboration with the ASST, the ETH Zurich University Archives and DigiCenter will catalogue and digitize the sunspot records from 1957 to 2017 in a five-year project, and render them digitally accessible to the public on e-manuscripta.ch. The FDD team is also involved in the project and responsible for the long-term preservation of the data on sunspot groups from the ASST database in the ETH Data Archive.

Subnavigation and related Informations

Related Informations Archival description and digitisation of the sunspot records from the Locarno-Monti observatory

Erschliessung und Digitalisierung der Sonnenfleckenzeichnungen der Beobachtungsstation Locarno-Monti

Ziel des Projektes

Seit 2016 erschliesst und digitalisiert das Hochschularchiv der ETH Zürich (HSA) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem DigiCenter Aufzeichnungen zur Sonnenfleckentätigkeit, die an der Eidgenössischen Sternwarte 1884 einsetzten. 1957 gründete die ETH Zürich eine Beobachtungsstation in Locarno-Monti. Bis 1980 war dieses Specola Solare als südlich der Alpen gelegene ETH-Aussenstation eine der drei Datenlieferanten von Zeichnungen, Fotoaufnahmen und Datenerhebungen zur Durchführung der statistischen Sonnenbeobachtung der ETH Zürich. Als der Betrieb der Sternwarte 1980 eingestellt und die systematische Sonnenfleckenüberwachung an der ETH Zürich aufgegeben wurde, wird die Beobachtungsreihe in Locarno fortgesetzt, begleitet durch die neu gegründete Associazione Specola Solare Ticinese (ASST) anstelle der ETH Zürich.

Das Projekt hat zum Ziel:

  • Archivierung der originalen Aufzeichnungen zur Sonnenfleckentätigkeit der ASST 1981-2017
  • Archivische Erschliessung und Digitialisierung der originalen Aufzeichnungen zur Sonnenfleckentätigkeit der Beobachtungsstation in Locarno-Monti 1957-2017 und Veröffentlichung via e-manuscripta.ch (Link verlässt diese Seite)
  • Aufbereitung und Publikation der digitalen Datenbank der Sonnenflecken-Daten für die Periode 1957–2017 durch die ASST
  • Langfristige Sicherung der Daten zu Sonnenfleckengruppen aus der Datenbank der ASST im ETH Data Archive

Kontext

In der aktuellen Forschung der Klimatologie ist diese Messreihe insbesondere aufgrund deren Anwendung in der Langzeitrekonstruktion der Sonneneinstrahlung von Bedeutung, da die Anzahl Sonnenflecken stark mit der totalen solaren Einstrahlung korreliert. Ausserdem dienen die Aufzeichnungen zur Validierung von Modellen der solaren Aktivität und tragen somit insgesamt zu einem besseren Verständnis der vergangenen und künftigen solaren Aktivität bei. Die Wichtigkeit dieser Aufzeichnungen im klimatologischen Kontext zeigt sich auch darin, dass die Beobachtungen der Sonnenflecken im kürzlich erschienenen Implementierungsplan des Globalen Klimabeobachtungssystems GCOS (Global Climate Observing System) als wertvolle Informationsquelle für Klimastudien anerkannt wurden.

Beschreibung

Dank der finanziellen Unterstützung durch MeteoSchweiz im Rahmen von GCOS Schweiz und in Zusammenarbeit mit der ASST werden HSA und DigiCenter die Sonnenfleckenzeichnungen aus den Jahren 1957–2017 in einem fünf Jahre dauernden Projekt archivisch erschliessen, digitalisieren und auf e-manuscripta.ch digital öffentlich zugänglich machen. Das Team FDD ist ebenfalls am Projekt beteiligt und ist zuständig für die langfristige Sicherung der Daten zu Sonnenfleckengruppen aus der Datenbank der ASST im ETH Data Archive.

Zeitrahmen, Ablauf

Projektlaufzeit:1. August 2018 bis 31. Juli 2023
Ablauf:Projektlaufzeit